Reporter Estel makes switch to BristolLive

Behind Local News
Behind Local News UK
2 min readJan 11, 2020
Estel Farell-Roig

Estel Farell-Roig has joined BristolLive from WalesOnline as a senior reporter.

Estel joined BristolLive in December after working at WalesOnline and graduating with a first class degree in journalism from the University of Sheffield. S

he often writes about social affairs issues including addiction, drugs and poverty and was a finalist at the 2019’s Regional Press Awards as well as the 2019 Wales Media Awards.

Estel said: “Having lived in Wales for more than three years, I have always loved Bristol. We used to come regularly for gigs and other cultural events.

“It is an amazing, vibrant city and, being born in Barcelona, it feels like a home from home already.

“One of the things I love the most about working in regional journalism is the unique opportunity it gives you to have so much knowledge about the place where you live. When you work in a place like Bristol, that is a privilege.

“I really enjoyed my time at WalesOnline and I have only been part of the BristolLive newsroom for just over a week, but I have a really good feeling about this next chapter.

“They have truly welcomed me with open arms and, once I have settled in, I can’t wait to get stuck into doing some in-depth, investigative features on the key issues facing the city.”

Bristol Live Digital Editor Sian David said: “Estel is a great addition to our newsroom.

“She joins us with a great portfolio behind her and an enormous passion for the job. There are so many important stories to be told in Bristol and I’m excited to see what she finds.”

--

--