Depression

McKenna Wissing
Behind the disorders
5 min readMar 6, 2019

--

Depression is a common but serious mood disorder. It causes severe symptoms that affect how you feel, think, and handle daily activities, such as sleeping, eating, or working. To be diagnosed with depression, the symptoms must be present for at least two weeks.

Depression stats

there are many types of depression and all different in there own way

  • Persistent depressive disorder is a depressed mood that lasts for at least two years. A person diagnosed with persistent depressive disorder may have episodes of major depression along with periods of less severe symptoms, but symptoms must last for two years to be considered persistent depressive disorder.
  • Postpartum depression is much more serious than the “baby blues” that many women experience after giving birth. Women with postpartum depression experience full-blown major depression during pregnancy or after delivery . The feelings of extreme sadness, anxiety, and exhaustion that accompany postpartum depression may make it difficult for these new mothers to complete daily care activities for themselves and/or for their babies.
  • Psychotic depression occurs when a person has severe depression plus some form of psychosis, such as having disturbing false fixed beliefs or hearing or seeing upsetting things that others cannot hear or see . The psychotic symptoms typically have a depressive “theme,” such as delusions of guilt, poverty, or illness.
  • Seasonal affective disorder is characterized by the onset of depression during the winter months, when there is less natural sunlight. This depression generally lifts during spring and summer. Winter depression, typically accompanied by social withdrawal, increased sleep, and weight gain, predictably returns every year in seasonal affective disorder.

Why do mostly teens have depression

Every 100 minutes a teen takes their own life, there is more stress today than in previous generations. Stress triggers depression and mood disorders, so that those who are predisposed to it by genes are pretty much guaranteed some symptoms of depression at the confusing and difficult time of the teenage years. We have been raised to have unrealistic expectations. Along with the messages from modern media sources that suggest that we should always feel good, they say many parents haven’t taught their kids the kind of coping skills they need to survive in chaotic times. Teens today probably face more pressures at home or school, worry about financial issues for their families, and use more alcohol and drugs.

Is depression a choice?

There are a lot of myths surrounding depression, the two most common being that depression is triggered by a negative life event, and that people who are depressed should find something that makes them happy so they can “snap out of it.” It can affect anyone, Depression can affect people of any age, ethnicity, or social position in any geographic location. There can be no cause to depression, depression may not be triggered by a specific event. It can occur at any time and any place

does depression hurt?

Similarly, the body’s need for restorative sleep is profoundly disturbed, and nearly all depressed individuals experience sleep problems; 80% complain of insomnia, another 15% sleep excessively. Insomnia by itself appears to be a risk factor for depression. Most patients complain of body fatigue. In many, energy loss is so overwhelming that physical movement becomes rare

increasingly, there’s evidence that depression involves various body systems. There seems to be a complex relationship between depression and the heart. Depression raises the risk of heart disease; it also magnifies the deadliness of existing cardiac problems. It’s not clear why, although researchers have found that depression alters blood platelets, circulating elements that are responsible for clotting. Depression has long been associated with pain. But it was once thought that people with pain were somehow “denying” their emotional disorder and converting it into bodily pain. The new view is that somatic complaints are the way some people get depressed. There is actually something malfunctioning in their pain perception pathways. But of all the signs that depression has a neck-down presence, none is more insistent than physical pain. For a substantial number of people, possibly up to half of depression sufferers, bodily pain is the way depression presents itself.

What depression looks like☞

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ_S5Rjt_iI

What it feels like when depression is winning

here is a story about Lori Russel

Six months ago, I was jumping out of bed at 4 a.m. for my 90-minute hot yoga class. I had energy and felt positive about myself and life in general. I even completed a 30-day challenge — 30 consecutive days of hot yoga — my first time completing anything on my own, for myself, ever. What the hell happened? This is the question I ask myself over and over.

In six months, I’ve stopped yoga, gained 30 pounds and fallen into what I feel is the deepest, darkest depression I’ve ever experienced. I’m no stranger to depression. I’ve battled it several times throughout the years, but this time is worse. I’m tired of everything. Simply being alive exhausts me.

I’m frustrated that I can’t control how I feel. I can’t snap out of it and just move on. It’s terrifying to feel disappointment when you wake up in the morning and realize you have to be alive yet another day. The guilt I feel for feeling this way is even worse. I know I “should” feel lucky and blessed I am alive. I have so many reasons to be happy with my life. Yet I’m stuck in this black hole.

I “should” be able to wake up and take a shower and take care of the kids. I “should” be able to do laundry and grocery shop and clean the house. I “should” be able to eat right and exercise and lose weight.

I know I “should” be able to do these things. I wish I could tell you or show you why I can’t do any of it. I pray daily this depression loosens its grip just enough to get the necessities done. I pray God will help me find my way out of this void.

the link for more of her story’s : https://themighty.com/2016/09/when-it-feels-like-depression-is-winning/

--

--