My Tinder Experience in China

Lance Ng
Behind the Great Wall
5 min readNov 18, 2018

--

Suzy was a girl I met in Beijing through Tinder. Among her six profile pics, one of them is a lean sexy pic of her in a bikini. No head shot, just below the neck of course, which does lead one to wonder if it is really her.

I guess in that sense she might be smart. Such a picture would encourage many men to try and date her out to ‘seek’ the truth. Once we connected online, she wasted no time. Three lines into the chat she asked if I am bringing her out for a dinner or movie that evening.

Wow, this girl was direct and fast. That could mean two things: either her character was more like a guy — straightforward and in it for the sexual possibilities. Hence she preferred not to waste time chatting online and instead meet the real person first to determine if she fancied me.

Or she could be a gold-digger who just wanted someone to pay for her meals and entertainment. If she was the latter she would surely ditch me after the first date if I didn’t seem to be wealthy and generous.

Well… either way no loss to me except for some cash to pay for a nice dinner or movie. Then again she might be a fraud with fake pictures and turn out to be fat or ugly with an…

--

--