How To Read One Book Per Week

The writer's path
Behind The Words
Published in
4 min readJul 20, 2024

--

Made by Me on Canvas

If you want to become a professional writer.
You need to read at a professional level.

I’m determined to make progress in my writing and since I got it into my head that I wanted to become a writer and one day make a living from my pen, I’ve been reading a book a week.

And the more I read, the more convinced I am that this is the best way to progress. To take inspiration from the greats and understand how the best stories are built.

Like the writer who has his writing routines so he can finish his projects. The writer-reader needs to follow his or her reading routines in order to progress, build literary culture and explore all kinds of styles.

After my period as an American writer, I’m now in the arc of French writers, and in recent weeks I’ve discovered the works of Balzac, Dumas, Hugo, Maupassant, Celine…

I’ll say it again, like a parrot, week after week, month after month: if you want to progress: write and read.

No need to search for hacks of all kinds.
The world’s greatest writers have left us gifts to study.

You want to become a better writer: write and read.

Whether you write fiction or non-fiction.
The nonfiction writer makes the mistake of believing…

--

--

The writer's path
Behind The Words

Sharing my journey as a writer. Sometimes philosophy, self improvement. And occasionally ... my own stories.