Maurice
Being and Time
Published in
15 min readAug 3, 2023

--

Dream analysis

Dream analysis with regard to https://porcupineswisdom.org/2023/01/05/the-devils-ball-2/

Here you can see how you can decode dreams, I also did this for other people; and also conversion stories from christians, they always have 8 or 16 parts, always chiastic structure A-B-B-A; text from the dream and my comments below with capslock

The Devil’s Ball

It was while living in Sheffield that I ended up attending the devil’s ball. I woke up in one of my lucid-dreaming and found myself waiting on the road, somewhere near a Dutch forest.

If you are not familiar with lucid-dreaming, let me explain. It is a state when you wake up in your dream and realize that you are no longer dreaming but are experiencing an absolute, magical, parallel reality. Your physical body usually remains in its place, in your bed, but I heard of some shamans who can move their bodies in their sleep from one place to another with a simple power of their mind. They fall asleep in one place and wake up in another.

FIRST EPISODE/SCENE

So, I woke up in my dream, and found myself standing on a recluse road, somewhere in the Netherlands.

I just knew that I was in the Netherlands, out of deep knowledge of my mind.

>> A1 I WAS SURE THAT I WAS MAGICALLY TRANSPORTED TO A FOREST IN THE NETHERLANDS….

I also once woke up in my other dream, travelling on the train, and knew at once that I was somewhere in Switzerland, although the purpose of my travel wasn’t entirely clear, and remains vague to me till today. Why Switzerland I wondered? But on the other hand, I was also experiencing a sense of absolute wonder while looking outside the train’s window. Yes, I could travel in my dream, and yes, I was doing it in reality, not just in my dream. I also sensed that my body wasn’t in my bed, in my cozy house in Sheffield, but indeed on the train, somewhere near Zurich.

>> ….. B1 THOUGH TECHNICALLY YOU CAN WONDER ABOUT HOW YOU’D GET THERE (“HOW YOU CAN TRAVEL” = HORIZONTAL MOVEMENT/STRUCTURE)

While knowing that I was near a Dutch forest (however, I am not sure whether it was in the south or the north of the country),

B2 ALSO I DON’T KNOW WHAT PART OF THE NETHERLANDS I WAS IN, NORTH OR SOUTH (=VERTICAL STRUCTURE)…

I was also aware at once that I was due to attend a ball of the devil, and visit his residence.

A2 BUT IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT SOMETHING MAGICAL WAS HAPPENING: INVITATION DEVIL’S BALL

I waited for a couple of moments, and a strange dog appeared, who would transport me to the house where the devil lives, deep in the forest, besides many trees, a place that I am not sure how it looks in reality. I didn’t see the house itself and thus, can’t describe it in details.

The flight on the dog, and it was similar to a flight, was exhilarating and magical. I couldn’t help but to think that, ‘wow’, I was really doing it and wow, it was really happening.

A3 I WAS SURE THAT I WAS EXPERIENCING A MAGICAL FLIGHT ON A DOG…

I also knew that, despite the evidence so to speak, I wasn’t a witch (or maybe I am?), but strange things keep on happening in my life, and the appearance of the devil in many forms and appearances is taking place in my regular life (and not just in my dreams), with terrifying occurrence. What does he want from me, and why does he chase me — is a question I ask myself on a daily basis.

B3 THOUGH TECHNICALLY SPEAKING I WASN’T A WITCH

The dog was of an unknown breed and if I would describe it in more details, the breed was similar to a mixture between pit bull and bulldog, but there was more to it than just a breed.

B4 I DON’T KNOW EXACTLY WHAT BREED WAS THE DOG…

It was obvious that the dog was magical, and that I was experiencing a total emergence into the parallel world.

A4 BUT IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE DOG WAS MAGICAL

— — — — — — — — — —

SECOND EPISODE/SCENE

We arrived at our destination and entered the house, which had different levels.

A1 I KNOW THAT I WAS IN THE HOUSE WHICH HAD DIFFERENT LEVELS, NOT REALLY SURE WHAT IT LOOKED LIKE OR WHERE I WAS ….

(COMPARE A1 FROM THE FIRST EPISODE: “I WAS IN A FOREST IN THE NETHERLANDS “— IN A FOREST = IN A HOUSE, WHICH HAD DIFFERENT LEVELS = IN THE NETHERLANDS) ..

DIFFERENCE: I WAS SURE THAT I WAS IN THE NETHERLANDS.. HERE SOME INSECURITY IS ADDED LIKE: WHICH HOUSE??, WHAT LEVEL??

The moment between arriving and entering the devil’s domain was too brief for me to notice more. I can’t say, for instance how the house looks from exterior, but I noticed a few things from inside.

B1 THOUGH I CAN SAY A FEW THINGS FROM INSIDE

( COMPARE B1 FROM THE FIRST EPISODE: THE HORIZONTAL MOVEMENT/STRUCTURE GOING FROM BED TO THE NETHERLANDS)

DIFFERENCE: IN THE FIRST EPISODE THE QUESTION WAS: HOW D’YOU TECHNICALLY GET IN THAT FOREST; NOW INSECURITY IS ADDED: WHY WOULD YOU GO THERE IN THE FIRST PLACE, IF YOU KNOW ALMOST NOTHING ABOUT THAT PLACE = MENTAL INSECURITY

It is based in a place where people don’t walk, away from the humans, and one can enter it by invitation only,

B2 I KNOW YOU CAN ONLY COME HERE BY INVITATION…

(COMPARE FIRST EPISODE B2 WHERE PEOPLE DON’T WALK = DEEP IN A FOREST; AWAY FROM THE HUMANS)

SAME AS IN B2 FIRST EPISODE, BUT THINGS GET SCARY; IN B2 FIRST PART IT WAS MORE LIKE A TECHNICAL QUESTION “DON’T KNOW IN WHICH PART OF THE NETHERLANDS I WAS” AS IF THIS IS ONLY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NOT RELEVANT; BUT NOW THE QUESTION IS LIKE ‘CAN ONLY COME HERE BY INVITATION’ LIKE ‘THIS IS A PLACE PEOPLE USUALLY DO NOT GO TO’, ‘NOT OUT OF YOUR OWN WILL’= ADDING INSECURITY AND TENSION; … AND HERE YOU DON’T HAVE THE DEFIANCE OF MARGARITA AS IN TMAM WHO ‘WOULD GO TO THE DEVIL TO RESCUE/REDEEM THE MASTER’

but I might be wrong about all this, as my impression was that I happened to be there by accident.

A2 THOUGH IT LOOKED AS IF I WAS THERE BY ACCIDENT

(COMPARE A2 FIRST EPISODE: I WAS SURE I WAS INVITED, THIS IS NOW 180 DEGREES TWISTED: I DID NOT HAVE AN INVITATION! SCARY! INSECURITY IS CONFIRMED)

Who had sent the dog for me was unclear. The devil himself?

A3 I DON’T KNOW EXACTLY WHO SENT THE DOG…

(COMPARE FIRST EPISODE A3: I WAS SURE THAT I WAS EXPERIENCING A MAGICAL FLIGHT ON A DOG… HERE IT IS THE SAME, BUT NOW INSECURITY IS ADDED; A2 SECOND EPISODE INVITATION IS MISSING; NOW A3 SECOND EPISODE DON’T EVEN KNOW WHO SENT THE DOG)

I am not so sure, as while being inside his house, I had a definite feeling that there was some sort of mistake and I wasn’t really expected there.

B3 THOUGH TECHNICALLY SPEAKING I WAS IN HIS HOUSE

(COMPARE FIRST EPISODE: B3 THOUGH TECHNICALLY SPEAKING I WASN’T A WITCH)

IN B3 FIRST EPISODE IT WAS KINDA FUNNY: FLYING AROUND IF YOU AREN’T A WHICH, AH, WELL, ‘JUST A DETAIL’; BUT HERE YOU ARE LOCKED UP

On the first floor there was a big bar, with guests exchanging the pleasantries and having some drinks, while in the basement, guarded by bodyguards, was HIM.

I was pushed by some invisible force to approach the guards to go the basement, but at the last moment was turned away by his security team.

B4 I COULD NOT REACH HIM…

(COMPARE FIRST EPISODE A4: I COULD NOT DETERMINE THE BREED OF DOG)

INSECURITY ADDED: IT IS NOT ANY MORE ABOUT THE DOG ITSELF, BUT ABOUT THE DEVIL: MOST SCARY

Was it a higher force preventing me from making the fatal step towards the basement? Or was it a simple mistake because, since I had no idea I would end up at a ball,

A4 I THOUGH WHAT COULD BE THE REASON

(COMPARE FIRST EPISODE A4: BUT MUST BE MAGICAL; NOW INSECURITY IS ADDED; NOTE THAT THERE IS LITERALLY A SECURITY GUARD PRESENT! AND WHAT IS THE REASON THAT THE HOST DOES NOT SHOW HIMSELF? ANY DANGER? IS HE GOING TO MAKE USE OF THE SITUATION?

The most interesting parts are perhaps not in the dream itself, but in the beginning and in the end!! because such dreams usually have a double layer; the double layer is shorter and usually at the beginning and the end

From the beginning:

Your physical body usually remains in its place, in your bed,

A1 = I am just where I belong, PHYSICALLY

but I heard of some shamans who can move their bodies in their sleep from one place to another with a simple power of their mind

B1 = though some people say crazy stuff like where you can go with your body

They fall asleep in one place and wake up in another.

C1 = They fall asleep in one place

D1 and wake up in another………

From the end:

The suggestion that they can move their body with their mind, seems relatively funny, “just magic”; but some shamans can also become evil shamans = devilish and not just move >their< body but yours; and the question is whether this is fair from them, especially catapulting a lady just out of bed to the middle of nowhere; read: “I was wearing my nightie. Nice and silky, but still…not a dress.” as the reaction on this:

D2 ……but I wore my nightgown

C2 not a dress

Instead I approached the bar and ordered a drink (a glass of champagne) but it all became a blur and I don’t remember how I exited the devil’s domain and found myself back in my bed, waking up and knowing with absolute certainty, that yes, it had happened,

B2 This was a crazy dream……

and no, I wasn’t mad or insane.

A1 …… though I am not crazy MENTALLY

(compare A1 I am in my bed physically…. I am not crazy mentally)

Next: compare first layer of meaning with second layer

This also includes a sentence from the mid part:

I am in my bed but some say you can travel ….. to a forest

The moment between arriving and entering the devil’s domain was too brief for me to notice more.

>> meaning you can lose control; it can pull you out of bed; literally: it can physically abduct you; out of your bed, out of your room

I was wearing my nightie. Nice and silky, but still…not a dress.

Abduction can be threatening, both physically (taking you out of a room just to the middle of nowhere, and it happening out of a sudden) but also sexually (not decent to pull a lady out of bed when she had no time to dress); a lady is decent therefore she wears soft clothes, so keep your hands away/ mind your own business

I was pushed by some invisible force… fatal step

Here they even start to push you around, imagine

Instead I approached the bar and ordered a drink (a glass of champagne)

This looks OK, but imagine those stories where they put drugs in women’s drinks so that they forget everything, this sentence seems to have a double layer and partly strong sexual connotation: suggests risk for lack of control

knowing with absolute certainty, that yes, it had happened,

this sentence might also have a hidden double layer: like happened what? the dream or an assault? there is tension in the sentences with such “keywords” as: “was not expected”, “fatal step”, “did not even see the devils face”. The tension is not IN THE TEXT itself, but it is suggested in all the words that indicate tension, and in the built up of tension (mentioned above, adding up insecurity); if the text would be about a shopping mall, there was nothing wrong, but forest, security force, champagne, devil, are markers for insecurity; compare also TMAM, the interaction between Margarita and Woland; here you also cannot deduct from the text that something happened between them, but it is suggested, which leaves nothing but a 50/50% chance; this has quite a big effect

especially if you compare A4 first episode with A4 second episode; then the sexual connotation becomes almost too obvious: I was sitting ON a dog in A3 first episode; and the suggestion in A4 that it was magic; and the suggestion in A3 first episode that “he” was somewhere out there, with the risk that he’d poor drugs in your drink and A4 second episode “commit magic = sex” with you against your will while you were in his house, with security around, don’t even know the address, in a forest, no humans around, and he did not even show his face

Again, such suggestions do not work on the conscious level; on the conscious level you’d already forgot, when you are reading A3-A4 second episode, what was in A3-A4 first episode; but the unconscious is about 95% stronger than the conscious, so the unconscious remembers exactly what happened in A3-A4 first episode, and automatically creates a connection, without you even knowing it consciously

It reads as: nothing is going on. But it feels like: I don’t know what to think of it. But at this point I defiantly need to determine that I am safe;

Again, this reads as: I am in my bed and I know that I am not crazy!!!

But you are not crazy at all. You are sensitive. So it feels as: I am very sensitive and I want security, I want people around that I can trust. I feel alienated at times in this world, because it seems so hard.

The last thing I want to happen is me >getting crazy< or acting out, if I cannot control it! I am a very sweet person (soft nightgown) and have no will or reason to hurt anyone else, so don’t hurt me too!!!

Note ML: this very much reminds me my dream when I saw God: evil happened to me (death father), I was in the car, I was like: why is this?? God appeared and I was like: hey! now, you’re not going to abduct me right!! I am way too young for that!!

Compare in your dream: “I am way to sweet to drag me to such a ball” and “what about this guard” and “show me your face” and “hell what you did with that alcohol”, and — subtext — but if you assaulted me, damn you, I am way too sweet for that!!

But defiance can also mean something else; like: ok, I am sensitive, but I can manage to deal with that. I am also not going to live like a recluse, locking myself up, why would I: I like to enjoy life, friends, and even intimate relationships. The only thing that I have to do, is manage my relations and manage my emotions. First idea is like: go to a psychiater, when these dreams become too much of a burden. But that is still quite negative. I could also become my own psychiater, after all, I am not crazy. I can just write about my experiences myself. And I do not need your DSM5, because there you only have “diagnoses”; and they will compare my situation with those diagnoses, and check out what one to pick; but on the internet there are people out there who perhaps will react on my writings and we can simply compare our stories; not compare diagnoses, but stories = way easier, and more friendly.

Perhaps any of those random persons will take interest in your dream and explain a little. Now he also has a double agenda. This person if it were me (ML) has serious doubts whether in this world open persons exist: people wage wars for nothing, quarrel and argue about nothing etc; he’s really lucky that he has good persons around him; but lacks one thing: they do not question reality; which is odd to him. So he is looking for at least a person to question our reality; and you’re one who does so too. But he was deluded already a couple of times: he met some people who were very friendly, but who would, in a situation that he would decode there dreams so completely as this one, immediately turn him down: they would accept everything except the truth. They would even rather accept >the devil<, if they would >not< have to except the truth!!

And, voila, there he is: the devil: well well, right in the face: he is a blockade. There he jumps out of your dream.

If you dream, he can abduct you to any ball, and scare the hell out of you; and you try to control the situation with words (“I am in bed”, “I am not crazy”) which is good for a start; but you still >believe in him< and he >still does not show his face<! So you might have reached a certain control, some agency, but he still has more power over you, than you over him.

But you can alter this. First check, and see above, what is the inner truth about your dream. You can decode the whole structure of it; and see in it’s interior. Then you also see the devil: aha, so there you are mate!

Perhaps you cannot see his face yet; but you can see his position: it is between you and the truth; he says: the truth about life is hard, accept me, I am more friendly, then you don’t have to see the truth!

Or, in more plain words, you say to yourself: I’d rather accept the devil, than the truth; the devil is at least a person, with persons you can talk, discuss, argue, make compromises.

But perhaps you can already see something here: it is a little bit strange that he does not show an alternative for the truth, but he blocks it: and that is not fair!

Secondly, but that is the question, but it happens with me: as soon as you don’t mind him, but just go ahead and unravel the truth, he would jump up himself, and show his face.

The devil is not playing a fair game!! He is also not blocking the truth himself, but by a security guard: he is creating insecurity. His face = insecurity.

If you see that he is insecurity, you might even get closer, now there’s no reason to worry about him any more; why not get closer and look him in the face, right in the face: and see that this is your face: it’s your own insecurity.

I am really interested in your reaction. And if you can also >feel< something about this. Because what I just wrote was about >knowing<: who is the devil, where is his position, what does his face look like. That is quite theoretical, it is about knowledge, it is not about emotions. Though it might leave you with an emotion like: ok, well damn, if ML is right, if already, though it looks smart, at least from the outside, then I am not helped anyway; because if he’s right, he took the devil away, but that was my friend, I felt that this was my friend, my security, at least I >knew< that the devil exists, and now ML says he doesn’t (and he’s the first one to explain this in a normal way, apart of all those somewhat silly psychiaters who know so little and just use abstract terms like “schizophrenia”, can’t they use a normal word and explain whether the devil exists or not, instead of putting labels on you; can’t they at least explain the interior of my dreams, instead of putting labels on it, as if they are no more usefull as people who walk with those label machines in supermarkets or warehouses???). But damn you ML, if you take the devil away from me; and damn you if the only thing you can give me instead of the devil, is insecurity, and it is insecurity on all levels: physical, mental, sexual, damn it, it is all negative. If you are smart, as you pretent, you are the worst salesperson in the world!!

Actually, ML, you don’t even seem to know >yourself<; you’re a cheat! Because you overlook something. Because you told me in the beginning, before you were going to send me your analysis, that this is >not< about being smart; and you also told me that you don’t want to play “Mr Know-it-all”, so that I could not reproach me for still doing so. And know look what this is all about??!!??

But in that case, me ML would turn this around; because I told you also today, that our situation is similar; I compared my dreams with yours, and I told you that my development consists of four steps or phases exactly as yours. So that either I am stupid and you too, or I am smart and you too. Actually, if I indeed post this question: who’s the real smart person here? You were faced with insecurity in life, which is >normal<. Usually people put it under the carpet, and that is stupid; but you faced it and you called it the devil: just the most serious way to approach this question, just as I did when I was facing the death of my father: just put God there so that I have something to relate this to. And you were smart not to listen too much to psychiaters, you show defiance; you are smart to put your story on the open internet, which is smart, because then you can attract attention; using internet to solve problems goes about 1 billion times as quick as the development of psychiatry (if you count from the year zero to 2023, compared to your start on the internet till now); and last but not least, and that is almost a joke, you do not mind communicating with a person who seems somewhat crazy himself, have him spend two full hours on his summer holidays assessing >your< dreams and you just go to sleep because >I’ll read it tomorrow<. Now, if that is not smart, I don’t know what the word “smart” actually means.

So that might give you a feeling of pride: I’m smart, I am not scared. Do you remember that one of the main themes of TMAM was courage? Now, you can say to yourself: I have courage, hihihi. And humour.

So I do not agree with you, if you say that I just gave you insecurity; but there is also courage, pride, well, humour you already had.

Another thing: you might say that the devil is part of a larger cultural story, a narrative, it perhaps gave you a false sense of security, but it was still part of a larger narrative, many people relate to it, they call it spirituality; and what about that then? Well, no problem; this narrative is also ready. The truth is just a Pandora’s box. And take your ability for lucid dreaming with you. That is something in itself; it is like being able to take excursions to where-ever you want. cheers!

--

--