Thank you

Fanny NK
Shani Awena Fanny
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2019
Photo by Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash

You made ME and thus I feel thankful.

Before meeting you, I thought I had seen all of it.

I didn’t have faith in relations or in boyfriends.

I thought that relations were a day-to-day battle. Fight for rights, Fight for existence, fight for respect.

I thought people were animals that often needed to be reminded the boundaries so never did I really trust.

I thought that everyone cheats and mostly with no reasons. Part of me still does but before, it had more to do with trust issues.

Wether we like it or not, our beliefs in marriage are built by our parents aunts/uncles samples. Either because we think we will never be like them or because they represent our dream life.

Everyone is unique and so is every relation. And no one really knows what happens behind closed doors. What “contract for happiness” they made. So no couple can be “reproduced”.

You came …. and day by day, with all the patience, you have broken down each and every wall in my heart.

For the first time in my life, I had the right to be really me and with this I discovered me.

I discovered the real woman in me. Not the pleaser or the fighter for her rights. For the first time I was able to discover who I was without having to hide anything.

I didn’t have to be a woman by cultural definitions, by social definition, I didn’t even have to be a woman. I became human in your arms.

I became a human with your love and your patience.

I learned love: Patient, passionate, caring, calm, faithful, truthful,wild, free, unapologetic, untamed.

As you are getting married today with a wonderful soul, I want to say Thank you from deep within my heart and I wish you the best.

No other word other than gratefulness can come close to what I feel.

So again THANK YOU.

F.

--

--