Missing From History: Robert Smalls

Kelly Wickham Hurst
Being Black at School
2 min readOct 2, 2016

There’s a lot of history missing from textbooks. The first time I read Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong by James W. Loewen, I remember being furious. There was so much I didn’t know.

Each week, on Sunday, I challenge myself to learn something I didn’t know. Actually, I try to do that every day but I make a concerted effort on Sundays to seek out something that might have escaped my own education. Today, I’m learning about Robert Smalls.

Image courtesy of Weebly

Smalls was born, as an enslaved African American, on a plantation in South Carolina. He escaped to freedom on a Confederate supply ship and, after the war, became a successful businessman and politician serving in both houses of the South Carolina legislature.

We need a movie about this man but, for now, this short film created by Cracked will have to do. (Or not. Hey Ava Duverney. This would be a fantastic project. I know you’re busy. Hand it over to another Black filmmaker if you have to.) If you’re so inclined, Cracked has an article that might interest you as well: The 5 Most Badass Ways People Escaped from Slavery.

You can read more about Robert Smalls here and here and here.

--

--