Reddit Consensus: I am a Soft Natural, not Natural Ingenue or Gamine

Jacquline Ard (Ontiveros)
Introspective Housewife
5 min readJun 4, 2020

Thanks to the goodwill of the Kibbe community on Reddit, I have been typed as a Soft Natural. For several years now, I mostly figured I was a Gamine, and I had settled on Soft Gamine for a while. Eventually, I realized that I wasn’t “soft” or “round” enough to be a soft gamine, and I wasn’t “yang” enough to be any of the other gamines.

I am “youthful and feminine” rather than “womanly” or “boyish.”

Source: Jacquline Ard

So, I figured I was an Ingenue, but I am not “girly.” Of course, I have an obvious “natural-ishness” to me. Soft Natural makes sense to me.

It’s reassuring to finally have a clear answer.

This is what I wrote:

I have been described as very short, fit, thin, and as having a youthful femininity rather than being womanly. My age is 27 (almost 28), yet I’ve been told by everyone that I look almost 10 years younger.

I am 4'10,” and I generally weight between 105–112 lbs. My bra size is 32DD. I don’t know my exact measurements, but my shoulders are wider than my hips. My waist is lightly defined compared to my shoulders and hips.

I don’t gain or lose weight easily. My legs always look fit no matter what I do. If I gain weight, it first shows up in my midsection then my arms before anything else. My rear is round but small. My hands are small and so are my feet. I wear a 5 1/2 US shoe size. My glove size is either 6 or 6 1/2.

That is my natural hair. It’s not quite straight, and there is a mild wave. I can never get rid of the volume and little hairs that stick up. I prefer longer hair on myself, but I can look okay with my hair up.

I prefer to wear more bohemian colors and styles (I know that’s a wide range, anyway), but I don’t feel that I look good in too flowy or loose clothing. I prefer what is tight-fitting. I think I look better in jewel tones and darker, natural colors and white. Generally, I don’t like the way I look in large patterns.

I think I am a Natural (I consider myself a Natural Ingenue) even though it would make sense for me to be a Gamine. I am tired of occasionally second-guessing. What am I, really? I would appreciate any help.

Front view, Source: Jacquline Ard

I wasn’t sure at first because I am an inverted triangle, but I was told “You only need a single curve for SN, although with SN celebs most have 2. You’re plenty curvy.”

Multiple people agreed with this answer.

As for Ingenue, I was told, “I think Ingenue is more of an essence, and Gamine is the idea of multiple essences in juxtaposition. I think you’re more SN though and you seem pretty happy with that! :D”

The ideas of Gamine, Flamboyant Gamine, and Theatrical Romantic were given and not popular. Well, the FG and TR answer had downvotes…

Side view, Source: Jacquline Ard

What is a soft natural, and why does any of this matter?

It’s another form of typology system (of course, I would find this) for describing people based on their physical features. It can aid in figuring out one’s own flattering colors, textures, and overall styles. It’s mainly directed at women which is typical, but women tend to care more about looking ideal.

The great thing is finding one’s own type and what looks good. I rather not walk around looking unflattering or downright repulsive. I think that would be challenging for me, though, but I have noticed when something seems “off.”

The main types are Dramatic, Natural, Classic, Romantic, and Gamine. D and N are very yang while R and G are very yin. C is moderate, of course.

Dramatic women are tall and very thin or they may be moderate height but look long. Natural women look wide and are athletic — some even have obvious muscularity. Romantic women are those with the “hourglass figures” and some with the “pear” shape. They tend to have the largest breast, as well, since they are the softest and fullest.

Gamine women are a lot like Dramatic women but on a smaller scale. They will look far more youthful, though, and there is an unbalanced blend of the features that all types have. So, it is yin even though it’s similar to D yang…because Gamines are little Romantics or little Dramatics, mixed…

Classic women are a balanced blend of all types. They are very average. What else can be said? They are more like to give off a “conservative” or “traditional” vibe.

D is sharp yang, N is soft yang, C is balanced, R is full yang, G is sharp yin or petite yang.

There are 13 overall types when including combinations, but I have noticed even more subtypes. Oh yeah, this reminds me of going deep into MBTI and the Enneagram with the details, but that’s another story I’ve dragged out…

McJimsey’s body typology system includes the Ingenue since Kibbe’s doesn’t, and then I’ve heard a bit about the Kitchener typology. Kibbe’s is the most popular, so I rather go by that, for now.

Anyway, I started noticing that some clothing just made me look “not so good.” No wonder I didn’t like tapered, skinny pants and jeans after a while.

You see, ever since I was 14, I have cycled through various styles: Natural Ingenue (frilly boho), Flamboyant Gamine (emo and scene kid), Gamine (minimalist), Classic Gamine (prep at high school events), Soft Classic (church), and the rest of the Natural group (Classic Natural, Natural Gamine, Dramatic Natural and so on).

Basically, I may have done the whole Gamine thing out of a sense of rebellion, at first and then I may have felt compelled because I’m very short.

The Natural styles kept popping up — so did the classic style, but I couldn’t keep that up for long since I found it “spiritually stifling.”

I just can’t go back to having shorter hair again. I much prefer my long hair. It suits me well. I am not gamine enough in body and soul.

As a Soft Natural, I have soft yang with a yin influence. My features are softly angular and softly blunt, and I’m small. That’s just how I am. I know that now — well, I think I have known for several years, but you know how it is with insecurities. I’m in good company, though, and I like my style.

--

--

Jacquline Ard (Ontiveros)
Introspective Housewife

“It is the chiefest point of happiness that a man is willing to be what he is.” ~Erasmus | www.ardpro.us/