Doing Things Just for the Sake of It

An impairing mindset one should avoid

Shubham Goel
Being Known
3 min readJun 6, 2021

--

In my quest of becoming a better human, I added a new task to my list of daily chores. I decided to make my bed after waking up. Studies suggest making our bed early in the morning gives us a sense of accomplishment and helps to start our day with positivity. It’s a kind of life hack.

Staying true to my conscience, I have been practicing this morning ritual for a week now. As promised, the first thing I do after waking up is pray to God, because you don’t mess with God (He is judging you right now for sure. Ask for forgiveness. Just do it). Next, I fold my blanket, arrange my bedsheet and move on with the day. I was under the impression that my mom will praise her rejuvenated son for his newly acquired discipline, however to my surprise, nothing like this happened.

Soon enough, I found out why.

To be honest, I am not good at folding blankets or bedsheets (I know it sounds like a lame excuse). Even after trying my best, I hardly ever get those perfectly aligned folds. If there was a competition to fold stuff, my family won’t allow me to enroll (I pleaded, we had a round table meet and my sister has been nominated in case the need arises. The second preference is my mom. Democracy wins).

In my mind, I was elated since regardless of my incompetence, I was still making my bed. I was hoping others might admire me for my efforts. Having said that, I was actually being naive, avoiding the truth, as we all tend to do. Why focus on the wrong when you can boast about right, which makes you look good (The milk spilled while pouring, but I poured it myself).

My folded blanket was far from neat and rather pathetic actually. My false pride didn’t want me to acknowledge the fact that later someone had to fold it again.

We do so many things daily with the intention to get them off our list. This ensues into lousy work which doesn’t have lasting gains. We assume we are getting a lot done, but in reality, end up compromising on the quality of the job.

How you do anything is how you do everything.

Honestly, if someone had to redo your work then it is no less than an insult. Think about it, a person has to redo the entire thing which you were supposed to get done. There is no pride in working like this.

After acknowledging this bitter truth, I knew I had to make the act of folding my new forte, which I realize might take a miracle! I have abandoned my morning ritual for now.

The road is tough but you ought to start somewhere.

Finally, I have made up my mind, to begin with folding handkerchiefs.

--

--

Shubham Goel
Being Known

25 | Driven by kindness & curiosity | Ex-Software Engineer | Writer | Bibliophile | Newsletter: soulletter.substack.com