POETRY

Girl in the Air

skydiving, but in words

Rieko
Being Known

--

Photo by Kamil Pietrzak on Unsplash

he holds my hand and signals
that this is happening.

the schoolgirl in me takes over
my stomach all but erupts with a kaleidoscope of butterflies;
freshly formed,
free from cocoon and eager to fly.

the smile slips onto my face
and settles before I can catch it
it gets so comfortable that I can’t help but leave it there

it’s supposed to be scary up here
at heights like this,
and in a vessel that just about holds me together.

but the expanse is beautiful
the earth looks up,
calls out to me like a warm pair of arms
beneath a far up sky

it looks like home
because it is.

the wind whistles,
goes and comes right back like a long lost friend-
and so I answer
I step further
and I leap.

The Backstory

I wrote this after looking for poetry prompts which I then clearly abandoned. I can’t say that I’m disappointed because now I’m considering sky diving. The mind really leads you where it wants to.

I have never been skydiving.

I haven’t even been in a plane since 2009, but I think it’s time. With the monotony of my routine right now, I think it’d be interesting to try something new, although I might begin with indoor skydiving first. And even if it’s terrible, I reckon it would be pretty good for the plot.

More realistically I think it’s time to travel and see something else.

Obviously, this poem is the romanticized version. I think I might be rewriting it if I actually try it. I am a scaredy-cat (haven’t heard that word in a long time) when it comes to heights and new experiences. But I keep being reminded of just how short life is.

It might not be skydiving or travelling for you, but do allow yourself to take the leap every once in a while.

That’s all I wanted to say. Thank you for being here.

-Rieko

--

--