POETRY / PROMPT

Haiku It!

A haiku on haiku

Galit Birk, PhD
Being Known
Published in
1 min readAug 1, 2021

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

New day, new haiku
Birthed from deep inside my soul
Passed from me to you.

I started writing haiku on a dare over a year ago, and it opened my floodgates to hundreds more since.

Birthing a haiku is therapeutic for me, but sharing it with you is where the real magic happens, for you glimpse into my soul and I feel seen.

This month, as part of Being Known’s writing prompt, I invite you to haiku-it with me. If something is brewing within you — pause, breathe, and haiku-it! Then share it with us by tagging this prompt poem and inviting your friends to join the fun, like so: I invite Sтepн Tнoмpѕoɴ, Haikuster, Carolyn Riker, Tina L. Smith, Heather C Holmes, Randy Shingler, and Victor Sarkin.

A haiku consists of just three lines and 17 syllables in total; following a 5–7–5 rhythm respectively as in the above. Rhyme scheme and punctuation are up to you, though haiku don’t typically rhyme.

I suggest utilizing a syllable counter to check your counts.

Have fun haiku-ing it!

--

--

Galit Birk, PhD
Being Known

Psychology, human potential, therapy, coaching, possibility, vulnerability, authenticity, connection, being known, giving my words wings! Perfectly imperfect.