I Was Afraid to Leave My Marriage

Then I got this one piece of advice

Alison Jacobson
Being Known

--

Image: Canva

For far too long I was profoundly unhappy in my marriage. It seemed as if I was in tears on a daily basis. The irony was that with the exception of my mom and my cousin, everyone thought I had a great marriage. It’s not that I was necessarily faking it and pretending everything was great it’s just that I believed everyone had their own problems and wouldn’t want to hear about mine.

I wish I could reach back and hug the younger, sad version of myself and tell her that it would be OK, that life would get better. Because at that time I felt trapped and alone.

This wasn’t a case where I was being physically abused and feared leaving.

The cage I was trapped in was of my own making, I just didn’t realize the door was unlocked the entire time and I had the choice to leave.

I look back now and realize that if I had someone to talk to, if I had shared how profoundly sad I was and found someone to encourage me, life could have gotten better so much quicker.

There were three main reasons I chose to stay in my marriage as long as I did.

--

--

Alison Jacobson
Being Known

Living my best life in midlife and helping other women do the same. Part spirituality/part practicality. alison-jacobson.com