Lucky

A poem

Jacqueline Brown
Being Known
1 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Photo by Cliford Mervil

My most painful moments
Are often the ones
That remind me
How lucky I am
To be in this life
In space and time

It is when I am knocked down
By the universe’s swift fist
That I hit the hard, messy Earth
Watch my tears drop to its surface
And remember that I am floating
In an endless universe
That has everything
From the rings of Saturn
To Crumble Cookies

How insane, yet beautiful is that?

This world is messy
Strange
Beautiful
Vibrant
And imperfect
Just like you and me
Which, perhaps, is what makes it so sweet

Imagine a world that’s perfect in every sense?
No hard times, frown lines
Moments that force you to remember
You’re still alive?
Such ease sounds pleasing
But I’m not sure there’d be much point
To being alive at all

So, I will wade through my pool
Of bad memories and worst times
If it means I have learned something
Grown into a fuller version of me
And that I get to hold the good times
With all the more light.

--

--

Jacqueline Brown
Being Known

Writer, dreamer, wanderer ✨ I write stories and poems about life and anything else that comes to my mind. Hmu at jmbinquiries@gmail.com