Self-Soothing After Being Triggered

By giving yourself time to reconnect on the inside, you also give yourself respect and self-kindness

Carolyn Riker
Being Known

--

Photo by Siddharth Bhogra on Unsplash

When I’m triggered, it’s usually because I’m already exhausted and my boundaries are overstretched. And then BOOM — there’s a trigger! It can be almost anything like someone raised their voice at me, or I watched a movie with a disturbing scene, and then I spin out, over and under, and into a messy crash landing, wondering what just happened to me.

Triggers provoke former traumatic or hurtful memories. Triggers can also be a warning sign to alert you when your boundaries feel crossed.

According to PsychCentral, an online mental health publication:

“Triggers are very personal; different things trigger different people. A person’s triggers are activated through one or more of the five senses: sight, sound, touch, smell, and taste. A combination of the senses is identified especially in situations that strongly resemble the original trauma.”

Triggers are like a taproot into the center of traumatic memories. We store memories not only in our minds but also somatically. Therefore, our bodies will react. We might feel sweaty, can’t…

--

--

Carolyn Riker
Being Known

Carolyn's latest book, The Colors I Hear, is now available!