POETRY

Snow Daze

Cold comfort

Tina L. Smith
Being Known
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Fireplace roaring.
Snow-dappled dogs curled by my feet,
Dripping frigid drops onto bare toes.
I tuck them up farther into the blanket.

Outside, the snow silently assembles
Flake upon flake,
Inch upon inch.

Clouds billow from the shuddering awning,
Sending a dusting to the shrubs below,
Burying lingering Christmas lights one week deeper.

I long to pull on red rubber boots
Not seen since childish adventures,
Wrap my neck with a scratchy hand-knit scarf,
And button the leopard-print coat I so adored.

Outside, the snow steadily assembles
Flake upon flake,
Inch upon inch.

A vast virgin landscape awaits.
No footprints,
No angels or snowmen.

Oh, the looping trails we could make,
Sibling following sibling with heavy steps.
Laughter ringing in the crisp air.

--

--

Tina L. Smith
Being Known

Writer, humorist, animal lover, lifelong language geek (er, I proofread for fun). I write on diverse topics that catch my fancy. Everything but haiku(tm). [she]