The Art of Self-Care

Listening, accepting and honoring our needs

Carolyn Riker
Being Known

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

“Taking care of myself doesn’t mean ‘me first.’ It means ‘me, too.” ― L.R. Knost

Healing takes time, and so does learning how to give ourselves the self-care we need. Over the decades, my idea of self-care has transformed. For me, self-care includes respecting my personal boundaries. Self-care is multidimensional too.

The difficulty with self-care, especially as a female, is how society perpetuates and abuses women as the caretakers of just about everyone. We genuflect to this role as quickly as the sky holds the sun and moon. We feel it is almost a righteous passage to give and give until there’s nothing left to give. At least, this is my take and what I was taught.

However, self-care is much deeper than I had anticipated. It’s taught me I do have a say, and I can say no. I have limits, and limits are good. I have learned not to step over my own personal lines to accommodate someone who drains me of my emotional space. It is my responsibility to set limits.

“Make good boundaries your goal. They are your right, your responsibility, your greatest source of dignity.” ― Elaine N. Aron, Ph.D.

Signs that I’m not giving myself the self-care I deserve and need.

--

--

Carolyn Riker
Being Known

Carolyn's latest book, The Colors I Hear, is now available!