Thanayuth Saosoong — Being openly gay in a police uniform

Thanita Wongprasert
Being LGBTI in Asia
7 min readAug 31, 2018
Pol. Capt. Thanayuth Saosoong poses in front of Sriracha Police Station in Chonburi, Thailand. Photo: Thanita Wongprasert/UNDP.

This is the fifth in a six part series featuring interviews with Thai lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) activists on their motivations, the issues that concern them most, their views on progress to-date and looking ahead.

Thanayuth Saosoong (Winnie) works as a daily report case officer at Sriracha Police Station in Chonburi, Thailand. He became well known in the LGBTI community and across Thailand after a video of him performing his daily tasks as an openly gay man went viral on social media. While it is expected that civil servants present themselves with an “appropriate manner,” he refuses to give up his freedom of gender expression. His story continues not only to inspire LGBTI persons, but also to inspire others to open up their minds and see things that are often labeled “abnormal” as normal.

Tell us about the video secretly filmed of you working in a police uniform. How did you become such a public figure in LGBTI communities?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZBJ3J72MQsQ&t=22s

Winnie: It was back in January 2017. I was doing my duty as usual and did not notice at all I was being filmed. As you see in the video, I was being totally my natural self with absolutely nothing to hide. It went viral because people were surprised at how I dared to be openly gay — despite the fact that I was in a police uniform serving citizens. Society does not get to see this kind of thing very often, or has never seen it at all. The stereotypes of a police officer are often those of a masculine man, reticent and discreet. You cannot find that in me [laughs].

Through someone I know from university, I have actually been involved with the Thai LGBTI community before the video was recorded. I guess people find what I do and who I am simultaneously interesting. You cannot be a police officer and be gay — the two being put together sounds uncommon and contrary. But when people see it in real life, it helps break the stereotype, the impossible. Take me as an example, diversity is within every job, every identity, every human being.

“Diversity is within every job, every identity, every human being.”

What was the general tone of responses you received? Did you ever consider reporting or deleting the video?

Winnie: I remember exactly how much shock I was in because it was online and the whole country can see it. To be honest with you, I have not read any of the video’s comments to this day. I would not be able to cope with even one negative comment, although I am sure there are some people out there who are angry at me, who despise or even hate me.

According to my friends who kept me informed of the general perception, the tone was positive. People want Thai police officers to be kind and friendly, and they found me an endearing image of my organization. Since the social media response was positive, the trend became positive, so my supervisor had no reason to condemn me.

I thought my professional life would get ruined but I was happily wrong. The response of my commander mattered more to me than anything, and the second my friend sent me the link became worried that the video would get me into serious trouble or even result in my dismissal from service. Saying all of that, I never thought of reporting to delete the video. It sends out good messages. You cannot really associate that video with something bad, can you? It is not meant to harm anyone or anything. Plus, I think the caption is really sweet.

What is your defense when people assume being a gay police officer is inappropriate?

Photo: Thanita Wongprasert/UNDP

Winnie: A lot of people are scared of entering the police station, let alone speaking to a police officer. The fear gets worse when people are in trouble and in need of help. Nobody is happy to be here. The whole situation is frustrating. I think my being who I am helps ease the tension. When I am soft, people gain the courage to open up with me; they share their stories, they ask me questions and the environment becomes less stressful. So, being gay does not pose any danger to anything. If I were a bad police officer then I count that as inappropriate. My sexuality certainly does not make me any less qualified as a police officer. Gender identity does not determine whether or not you are qualified for a job. You can be gay and work as a teacher, as a soldier, as anything.

Were there any conflicts at work because you are gay? How did you handle it?

Winnie: Before the video, I was called in and received feedback saying that I should appear calmer and more serious. My suitability for the job had been called into question because I am gay, and that my gender identity apparently made me look less credible. I had heard some sarcastic comments, both from colleagues and from people who needed my assistance.

I usually react to people who mistreat me with a sense of humor because it effectively calms the situation down. I even became good friends with some of them. By being nice to who is mean to you, you prove them wrong. But sometimes this trick does not work. When it comes to people having clear intention of belittling me, I stand up to protect my own rights and soon people came to recognize those boundaries.

Photo: Thanita Wongprasert/UNDP

How did the people that you work with finally come to a positive perception of your SOGIE?

Winnie: I did try to behave “normally” but it could not last that long — that attitude went against the freedom that I have and value. It did not feel right. So it was my decision to return to who I have always been since day one. I continue to do everything that a good police officer is expected to do: I am not flexible with discipline, I do not bend the rules and I do what is right. I show politeness, compassion and responsibility. These are the lines my colleagues are certain I would not cross and they respect me for it.

“The most important thing is how you present yourself because people are going to remember you the way you allow them to. Trying to be someone you are not and doing something against your instinct is exhausting.”

My strategy is to leave no room for criticism at what I do and stay true to who I am to the point where they become accustomed to it. Why would I act like someone I am not? What good comes out of it? What good do I get out of it? At the end of the day, it is just one profession and one sexual orientation. Let’s not complicate them further.

The most important thing is how you present yourself, because people are going to remember you the way you allow them to. Trying to be someone you are not, and doing something against your instinct, is exhausting. I would rather be myself, of course without making people around me feel uncomfortable. It is important to know your limits, to know what is appropriate and when is the appropriate time.

After the video, you have been interviewed and invited to speak publicly for the community. What are the key messages you try to share?

Winnie: What I want society to understand is that being LGBTI is normal. It is just another way of living and it does not bring with it any bad outcome. We can do anything, work as anything, the only thing we lack is representation. It would be naïve to fall into gender stereotypes, this is 2018 — people can do anything they want. If an individual possesses knowledge and competencies that meet the job requirement then let them have the opportunity to flourish. Their gender identity and sexual orientation is not going to change a thing.

Specifically, to all my LGBTI friends out there, stick to your natural self and stay consistent. You are not doing anything wrong. Boost positivity within yourself and do not let anyone else compromise who you really are. You must set clear boundaries that people are not allowed to cross. Stand up to anyone that disrespects you, or tries to tell you what you can and cannot do.

Photo: Thanita Wongprasert/UNDP

Being LGBTI in Asia is a regional programme aimed at addressing inequality, violence and discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity or intersex status, and promotes universal access to health and social services. For more information on Being LGBTI in Asia, visit: http://www.asia-pacific.undp.org/content/rbap/en/home/operations/projects/overview/being-lgbt-in-asia/.

Note: Using a preferred gender pronoun is one way of showing respect and acknowledging a person’s gender identity. Throughout this series, care has been taken to ensure that the preferred gender pronoun of interview subjects has been used.

--

--