Awesome in Action: Germyce Williams

Changing The Black Medical Student Experience From The Inside and Out

Olivia C.S. Thomas
Flourish: Healing & Hustle
3 min readJan 22, 2020

--

Germyce has joy in her voice. Her hopeful demeanor is infectious as she tells me about her exploits doing admissions for medical schools in the Philadelphia area. She proudly proclaims her brilliance, which I absolutely adore as there are few people who are so willing to say it for fear of immodesty but there was nothing brash about it, her words were the truth and her work speaks for itself. I’m glad to introduce you to her!

What’s your personal mission statement? Do what you can, where you can whenever you can.

What makes you awesome? I’m not sure if this makes me awesome or crazy but after working in medical school admissions for several years, I developed a passion for helping students of color gain access to information that would help them become competitive medical school applicants. This passion prompted me to take a leap of faith and leave my job in higher-education to start Black and Brown Pre-Med Academy.

What is a project you’re working on now that people need to know about? I’m preparing to launch an online course and companion book for under-represented students pursuing admission into medical school.

How do you practice rest? I listen to my body. Gone of the days of pulling all-nighters! My body starts to shut down around 10 or 11pm and I don’t fight it. No matter what I’m working on; I simply stop, turn out the light and go to bed. I know I can only function fully when I’m well-rested.

What media are you consuming now that you recommend? I am absolutely fan-girling Mel Robbins right now! Her book The 5 Second Rule is a MUST READ for anyone that struggles with procrastination due to fear and self-doubt!

One thing that helps you get excited about life? Knowing that each day is a new beginning and that each of us has the power to create the life we want! The universe has enough for ALL of us and opportunities are ENDLESS! How awesome is that!

Who is someone you look up to? My mother, Delores. She’s the strongest, smartest and most stylish woman I know! She’s amazing and brilliant. Her heart I’m certain is made of pure gold! She abhors social media LOL

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten? 1. Always follow your mind! 2. Worry is a waste of energy and time. Most of what you worry about will never happen!

If you could only tell the world one thing, what would it be? You lose nothing by giving! Be generous, be kind.

Any parting words for Busy Girls out there? NOTHING stops a woman with a made up mind! Decide what you want and GO GET IT!

For more on Germyce, you’re going to have to wait a little bit as her website is being built but it will be available HERE! For now, you can meet here in the Busy Girls’ Brunch group on Facebook.

For your weekly dose of Healing and Hustle, straight to your inbox! Click Here For Your Flourish!

--

--

Olivia C.S. Thomas
Flourish: Healing & Hustle

Mom, entrepreneur, #Wintentional, flourishing and supporting others as they do the same in business and life through community and content.