Awesome in Action: Tysheira Maddox

Helping You Navigate Your Millenial Life

Olivia C.S. Thomas
Flourish: Healing & Hustle
3 min readJan 8, 2020

--

I’m not quite sure exactly which tweet sparked a conversation between Tysheira and me, but it happened and we stayed connected. Her passion for self-awareness and growth was evident from our very first interaction, and I’m excited to introduce her to you!

Name: Tysheira Maddox

What’s your personal mission statement? It is my mission to utilize all of my God-given gifts and talents to help others reach their authentic self.

What makes you awesome? I’m a self-starter, empowering, and dedicated individual from Philadelphia. I earned my Bachelors in Psychology from Eastern University and currently obtaining my Masters in Social Work, specializing in health/mental health at Temple University. In 2017, I obtained my life coach certification to assist millennials with breaking down barriers, navigating adulthood, and discovering ways to utilize their passions and talents outside of their 9–5. My goal is to utilize my education and experience to become an individual and family therapist, compose books on personal development and organize wellness groups for millennials who struggle with life outside of high school and college.

What is a project you’re working on now that people need to know about? I’ve created a group on Facebook called Goal Girlfriends: Navigating Our 20s. I saw a need for millennial women to understand the importance of personal development, Sisterhood and managing adulthood. My hope is that each person involved will find a “goal bestie” or tribe of young women that they can journey with who will uplift, inspire, and hold them accountable to becoming their best selves.

How do you practice rest? I dedicate at least 1–2 hours to myself to unwind. That may be 2 hours at the gym, 1 hour of fun reading, or 1.5 hours spent having a meaningful conversation.

What media are you consuming now that you recommend? Therapy for Black Girls (IG and podcast), The Soul is Prismatic (IG and podcast), The Miliblog (Twitter and IG), You are a Badass by Jen Shapiro, and Business Boutique: A Woman’s Guide for Making Money Doing What She Loves by Chrissy Wright.

One thing that helps you get excited about life? Vision Boards

Who is someone you look up to? Marline Francois Madden

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten? Be around people who are in the places you want to be and don’t what you desire.

If you could only tell the world one thing, what would it be? To love and have no regrets regarding who are what you love.

Any parting words for Busy Girls out there? Remember you and take care of your temple; you only get one.

For more on Tysheira, connect with her on Instagram! I’m grateful

For your weekly dose of Healing and Hustle, straight to your inbox! Click Here For Your Flourish!

--

--

Olivia C.S. Thomas
Flourish: Healing & Hustle

Mom, entrepreneur, #Wintentional, flourishing and supporting others as they do the same in business and life through community and content.