Are Humans Getting Colder Over Time?

The bizarre story of human temperatures dropping over the last couple of decades.

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

--

Humans have seen our temperatures drop over time. Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Every day, my hospital mandates that I check my temperature twice daily. I also need to report any symptoms I am experiencing that might be related to Covid-19. Folks coming into my medical center hear innumerable questions about symptoms and have their temperatures checked, too.

Today we look at the bizarre story of ourselves. We humans have been dropping our body temperatures over the last couple of decades. But first, please indulge me as I share four of my top picks of wintry films:

  1. Doctor Zhivago. This 1965 epic take on the Russian Revolution puts winter on steroids. A romantic drama, with a palace covered in ice, frozen lakes, and more.
  2. Fargo. This Coen Brothers film won an Academy Award. Hear the crunch of snow under boots. I nearly froze as the chase scene unfolded.
  3. The Shining. This horror classic takes place in Colorado. We travel to the Overlook Hotel, one that cannot operate during winter months because of impassable snow-covered roads.
  4. Alive. This 1993 film is a fear-inducing film based on the true story of an Uruguayan rugby team that survives a plane crash in the Andes mountains. It is a movie about the…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com