Adobe Stock Photos.

Cholesterol Chronicles: Unveiling the Uncharted Territory of Superior Tests

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
6 min readJan 12, 2024

--

“THERE IS A BETTER PREDICTOR OF HEART DISEASE, but many doctors and patients aren’t talking about it.” That’s the headline I recently read in the Washington Post.

My primary care providers have focused on my low-density lipoproteins (LDL) or “bad” cholesterol. They also note my high-density lipoproteins or “good” cholesterol.

But is this the right approach? The article suggests it is time to move beyond the simple concept of “good” versus “bad” cholesterol.

There is a better blood test to assess heart attack risk. The measure goes by the unwieldy name apolipoprotein B. Many refer to it as “apoB.”

Cholesterol basics

Cholesterol is a buzzword in health discussions, but what exactly is it?

Think of cholesterol as a friendly helper and a potential troublemaker all rolled into one. It’s a waxy, fat-like substance that our bodies need to build cells and make hormones.

Photo by Sasun Bughdaryan on Unsplash

However, having too much of the wrong kind can spell trouble for our arteries and heart. There are two main types of…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com