A close-up of a barista pouring milk to create a leaf pattern on an espresso base.

Coffee: The Surprising Weapon Against Colon Cancer

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

--

I AM A TEA PERSON, MORE SPECIFICALLY, EARL GREY. But I also enjoy an occasional cafe latte.

As a cancer doctor, I was delighted to learn that in the battle against cancer, a surprising ally emerges from the depths of your morning routine: coffee.

I have many patients and friends whose colon or rectal cancer has spread to distant sites such as the liver and lungs.

The article is a hypothesis generation revelation that may reshape how I think about my morning caffeine fix.

A white saucer, with a white cup filled with a cafe latte.
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Today, I’ll explore recent research that suggests we may someday redefine our approach to cancer risk reduction and survivorship.

Of course, in my usual fashion, I’ll begin by offering the takes of famous writers.

Gertrude Stein’s Musings on Coffee

Gertrude Stein (1874 — 1946) was an American novelist, poet, playwright, and art collector.

Given the time she spent in Paris, I am not surprised by her observations:

“Coffee is a lot more than just a drink; it’s something…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com