Dark Chocolate and Cognition

Dark chocolate is chock full of nutrients that can positively affect your health.

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2021

--

Photo by Shashi Charles on Unsplash

A lovely friend of mine astutely observes that I frequently write about the health benefits of dark chocolate. Of course, I do! Dark chocolate is chock full of nutrients that can positively affect health. Created from the seed of the cacao tree, it is a good source of antioxidants.

Did I mention that chocolate is also delicious? I have fond memories of drinking a cup of dark chocolate at Barcelona’s Fargas. This historic chocolate shop has been operating since 1827 on the same corner of the Gothic Quarter. They have been using the same stone grinder since to mill their chocolate. I can smell the chocolate as I write to you!

Today we briefly explore the positive effects of dark chocolate consumption on your brain. Flavanols in dark chocolate may be responsible, at least in part, for the health benefits.

What’s the connection of chocolate to thinking skills? Let me be clear: There isn’t a lot of human data. I am excited to have stumbled across a 2014 Italian study published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. Researchers examined the effects of cocoa flavanols in 90 healthy subjects, ages 61 to 85 years.

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com