Fitness

Drop Blood Pressure: Stretch or Walk?

Stretching more effective than walking to drop high blood pressure.

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Photo by Oksana Taran on Unsplash

“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”
Pablo Picasso

As you enter this new year, you may have decided to walk more or do more weight lifting. I will ask you to consider adding some stretching into your daily routine, especially if you have high blood pressure. Here’s why: New research hints that, for those with high blood pressure (hypertension), stretching may be more effective than brisk walking at lowering blood pressure.

High blood pressure is a leading risk factor for cardiovascular diseases, which are the number one cause of death globally. In the United States, the management of high blood pressure is the most common reason for office visits to medical professionals (for non-pregnant adults) and chronic prescription medications.

Up to 46 percent of US adults have high blood pressure. Of equal concern to me is that approximately one-half of these individuals have inadequate blood pressure control.

Now comes new research suggesting that stretching may be more effective than brisk walking at lowering blood pressure among those with hypertension. It seems…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com