Empathy Is An Emotional Muscle You Can Develop

Skills psychotherapy teaches us to improve connections with others

Lisa Bradburn
BeingWell
Published in
5 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Girl in a field | Image By Radharani, Shutterstock

Margaret, a friend of the family, visited us this past week. While her presence started off as an annoying house guest, she became one of my greatest lessons on how to build empathy for others.

When you think of a loud, raspy-voiced woman, this is Margaret. Decades of heavy nicotine and liquor use and abuse have left their battle scars. Margaret ends each sentence with a high-pitched intonation at a frequency that hurt my ears. She also has a way of cutting off people’s sentences to ensure her voice gets heard. Margaret’s in her late sixties, yet, her partner Scott is my age; in his early forties. The couple moved into our home for a week to help my step-dad reinforce cement walls in his workshop. While it wasn’t my intent to be rude to Margaret, I chose to keep our interactions to the bare minimum and wore a poker face to hide my genuine emotions rather than show a perpetual irritable state. When Margaret arrived, I didn’t know much about her, except that her dishevelled appearance and constant sneezing provided me with the belief she’d lived a hard life and wasn’t physically well. Despite this knowledge, at the onset of Margaret’s time with us, I felt little compassion. And this bothered me. I became curious:

--

--

Lisa Bradburn
BeingWell

Psychotherapist (RPQ) & Coach at the intersection of faith, technology, and the human condition. Let’s chat: lbradburn@gestaltmail.ca