Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

How What You Eat May Impact Your Vision: The Surprising Link Between Diet and Glaucoma

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
5 min readApr 19, 2024

--

ULTRA-PROCESSED FOODS (UPFs) ARE ASSOCIATED WITH a higher risk for glaucoma. Today, I explore the relationship between diet and this eye disease.

I have previously written about the negative health outcomes of ultra-processed foods, including the following:

Photo by Eiliv Aceron on Unsplash

I am a work in progress, trying to dodge heavily processed foods and drinks while emphasizing fruits and vegetables.

Today, I want to explore how your diet may impact your vision.

Glaucoma: A Leading Cause of Blindness

I have always been interested in glaucoma; after all, my father, several aunts and uncles, and my grandmother suffered from it.

Fortunately, the disease appears to have spared me.

You may have more interest in the topic after you read this observation from the American Academy of Ophthalmology:

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com