If you see a grandmother, tell her she’s pretty

This past birthday weekend was delightful from beginning to ending. Peter turned two and my daughter arranged a fun Sesame Street party at her home on Saturday afternoon.

Peter loves Elmo, so he had a giant red Elmo balloon and an Elmo cake. Anne ordered T shirts for each of us. Peter’s mom wore an Elmo shirt and his Dad was Cookie Monster. Katherine was Abby -wings and wand and all. I was Oscar the Grouch, Doc was Bert, Laura was Big Bird.

We played with balloons, Katherine helped Peter open his presents, and we all happily played with trucks, trains, and balloons for hours.

Mother holding her two children, girl dressed as Abby and boy dressed as Elmo.

On Sunday, Katherine’s birthday party was held at a large gymnastics center. Hers was a Unicorn theme party, with unicorn cupcakes, unicorn plates, napkins, and unicorn balloons. About twelve children ran around the gym jumping on trampolines, balancing on beams, building a fort with padded bolsters, climbing, swinging on rings and bars, and having all sorts of fun.

I discovered that Katherine could do a complete flip on the free hand-held rings. I was siting in the back sometimes rolling a ball to Peter, but mostly just watching the children to make sure no one got hurt. My husband got on the floor and crawled around with Peter under the balance beams. Aunt Laura was there, too, to help supervise and play with her nephew.

I walked around and talked to a few of the mothers, but mostly I sat in the back and enjoyed watching my daughter be the ringleader of this grand birthday party. She wore a bright pink sweater with cute colorful dangle earrings, and she smiled, chatted, and laughed with all the parents who were there. I thought she was beautiful!

I love watching my daughter being a mother. It is one of my favorite things in the whole world right now. And of course, I love watching healthy children play (my old pediatrician brain). I was SAVORING the moments.

mother & father posing with six year old daughter at her birthday party

The children played hard for one full hour before stopping for refreshments. The long table was set with balloons, snacks, cupcakes, juice, and fresh fruit. I helped only by passing out cupcakes. My daughter had everything taken care of.

One of the moms pulled me aside and asked, “Are you a grandmother?” I answered “Yes, I am Katherine’s grandmother.” And this woman (whom I did not know) said, “You are so pretty.” She said she had been looking at me having fun watching the kids run around and play.

I was not dressed up in any way, simply wearing jeans and Katherine’s favorite Cheetah print sweatshirt. I was just hanging out enjoying the children, savoring the moments, and probably smiling a lot. I was so taken by her comment that I was pretty that I have been thinking about it ever since.

I am not a pretty person, and I definitely look my age of seventy-one years. Nevertheless, her compliment made me feel so wonderful, like a proud mother and grandmother. She must have thought me pretty in my watching and loving my children and grandchildren.

Here is the lesson from my weekend: when we savor certain things in life it translates to beauty and presence. Savoring is a form of mindfulness, and you can use it any day you like.

--

--

Susan Landers, MD, expert in burnout, working moms
BeingWell

retired neonatologist, practiced 33 years in the NICU, supporting working mothers with my blog, newsletter, & social media posts , https://susanlandersmd.com