Weight Loss/Self/Mental Health

Is Intermittent Fasting the Right Diet for You?

Intermittent fasting has the same effects as the keto diet but may have additional benefits

Loren A Olson MD
BeingWell
Published in
8 min readNov 18, 2020

--

Overweight man trying to fasten his jeans.
GHEHANDII BOICO/DepositPhoto.com/8736651/Licensed to author

“Well, Loren, You’re healthy for a fat man.” That’s what my doctor said when I went to see him to discuss intermittent fasting.

I loved him for saying that even though telling someone fat that they are fat is a bit redundant. It’s not like I didn’t know it. I love his honesty. I know that he will always tell me what I need to know, not what he thinks I want to hear. Tell me like it is.

He responded to me, “There’s some good evidence that intermittent fasting can lower the risk for diabetes, high blood pressure, elevated lipids, and even inflammation.

“You don’t have diabetes. None of your meds should cause a problem. I can’t think of any reason not to do it.

“There’s a good article in the New England Journal of Medicine about it. Judge for yourself.”

I looked up the article, and I found this:

Evidence is accumulating that eating in a 6-hour period and fasting for 18 hours can trigger a metabolic switch from glucose-based to ketone-based energy, with increased stress resistance…

--

--

Loren A Olson MD
BeingWell

Gay father; Psychiatrist; Award-winning author FINALLY OUT. Chapter excerpt here: http://bit.ly/2EyhXTY Top writer on Medium. Not medical advice.