A man looks at us with his mouth wide open and eyes wide, too.
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

Mouthwash Magic: The Surprising Link Between Gargling and Improving Type 2 Diabetes

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
8 min readMar 4, 2024

--

GUM DISEASE IS CONNECTED TO TYPE 2 DIABETES. Gargling with mouthwash has been found to lower the risk of gum disease by eliminating harmful mouth bacteria.

A recent Japanese study looked into how using mouthwash affects both the bacteria in the mouth and the A1c levels (a measure of blood sugar) in people with type 2 diabetes.

A heaping spoon of sugar (spilling over the sides) with a raspberry on top.
Photo by Myriam Zilles on Unsplash

While I do not have diabetes (or prediabetes), many of my patients do.

The idea that reducing gum disease (periodontitis) can lower a marker of diabetes severity (hemoglobin A1c) is exciting to me.

Today’s goals

I want to help you discover the amazing connection between mouthwash and managing Type 2 diabetes.

Recent studies have shown that gargling with mouthwash could help improve blood sugar levels in people with Type 2 diabetes.

It’s a simple and easy habit to incorporate into your daily routine that could positively impact your health.

I will also provide tips to help you dodge diabetes.

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com