Reactions after Receiving My COVID-19 Vaccine

I describe the twenty-four hours following my COVID-19 vaccine.

Julian Willett, MD, PhD
BeingWell

--

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

There is a lot of misinformation regarding COVID-19 vaccines. I have written multiple articles on my Medium page documenting the objective aspects of COVID-19, including vaccine side effects. Yesterday, I was fortunate to receive my COVID-19 vaccine as some researchers had the opportunity to sign up for it.

I flowed through the registration at the vaccination center relatively quickly. As with every other medical procedure, I was appropriately asked for contraindications to the vaccine (have I had reactions to vaccines in the past). The center exists so people who have severe reactions can be cared for (a stretcher in a section of the arena with a cart with the appropriate equipment). I was at the center for around an hour, and no one occupied that aspect of the stadium. All staff I interacted with were knowledgeable and respectful.

The vaccine itself was painless. The needle is very small. I kept my arm relaxed during the shot, which helps further decrease any pain. I have an allergy to shellfish (and, per an allergy test, the entire outside world), and I experienced no symptoms in line with an anaphylactic reaction or any allergic reaction. I left after 15 minutes and carried on my daily activities without any…

--

--

Julian Willett, MD, PhD
BeingWell

Loving husband. Physician scientist who enjoys spreading his knowledge and experiences with the world whether related to medicine, science, or his hobbies.