A man helps maintain his weight by swinging  a blue kettlebell. The ocean is in the background.
Photo by Taco Fleur on Unsplash

Sustainable Weight Management: 5 Proven Strategies That Don’t Rely on Fad Diets

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
4 min readApr 12, 2024

--

ARE YOU TIRED OF RIDING THE FAD DIET ROLLERCOASTER, only to find yourself back where you started? You’re not alone.

As I get within a month of my bodybuilding physique competition (for folks over 60), I am thinking more about weight.

As I am in my cutting phase, I have to drop significant weight; I am going from 164 pounds to 143.

The journey to sustainable weight management can often feel like an elusive quest, with countless trends promising quick fixes but delivering short-lived results.

However, there’s a silver lining: lasting success is within reach and doesn’t require extreme measures or restrictive eating plans (like my current one).

A round sign (on a narrow long silver pole) has the number five in black. The number is surrounder by a red-rimmed white area.
Photo by Tasha Kostyuk on Unsplash

Overview: 5 Proven Weight-Loss Strategies

In this article, we’ll explore five proven strategies that transcend the fads, offering you a roadmap to sustainable weight management that aligns with your lifestyle and long-term health goals.

Say goodbye to the cycle of dieting and hello to a sustainable, balanced approach that…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com