The Ancient Present Moment

Why is the practice of Living in the Present moment hyped?

Lida Fatemi
BeingWell
2 min readAug 12, 2021

--

Dr. Lida Fatemi, the Author, at the Acropolis in Athens 2017 — where new civilizations were born by philosophers being present with each other. This is how our cognitive evolution was pushed forward.

As we drive to my parents’ house, I’m singing songs in Farsi with Nika, our 13-year-old daughter. Well, I’m singing the lyrics. She’s watching my mouth closely to learn the words. Though she asks me to change the music to English lyrics, I keep prolonging the switch. I know it’s a healthy challenge for her.

It’s taken me hours of practice in the morning to be present. At this moment, I’m here with her without effort.

As I slip into this clear state of consciousness with her, we start creating together.

We create lyrics that include our tiny dog, Misty. We come up with new Farsi words to match Misty’s most favorite act: licking. We get a good chuckle out of it. We sing and laugh for the rest of our journey.

These were some of the most loving moments we’ve shared.

My heart is filled with love for my life as is. There’s Nothing to Change, Nothing to Do.

We create when we’re present with each other.

In the now, we integrate all of our ideas with what is present with us.

This is how we innovate.

This is how we evolve.

We’re here to evolve.

While we evolve, the source evolves.

This is why the practice of being present is one of the most ancient practices. It pushes humanity to the next level of its evolution.

In Part 2, we’ll dive into the hows of getting into the Present Moment for the Modern Human.

--

--