Adobe Stock Photos.

The Power of the Power Nap: How a Snooze Can Salvage a Sleepless Night

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
6 min readMay 12, 2024

--

HARDLY A WEEK GOES BY WHEN A PATIENT DOESN’T ASK me about short sleep. And the inevitable follow-up question: Do naps salvage a sleepless night?

I only sometimes get the seven to nine hours of sleep that I should to optimize my health.

Photo by Bruce Mars on Unsplash

Here is my takeaway message:

Indulging in a midday snooze can offer a reprieve and boost productivity.

However, recognize that a persistent need for these naps might indicate underlying chronic sleep deprivation.

Today, I’ll explore the potential health benefits of good sleep before considering the pros and cons of napping.

Famous Writers on Sleep

Of course, I must begin with Shakespeare:

“Innocent sleep. Sleep that soothes away all our worries. Sleep that puts each day to rest. Sleep that relieves the weary laborer and heals hurt minds. Sleep, the main course in life’s…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com