Thin fibers form the shape of a heart (with the bottom stcicking into some sand), with a dozen small lights illuminating the heart. This essay will explore the fascinating connection between music and the heart, shedding light on how music may affect our cardiovascular health.
Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

The Rhythm of Your Heart: How Music May Affect the Beat and More

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
8 min readJul 10, 2023

--

I LISTEN TO MUSIC AS I WORK OUT. And when I write. I listen in my office in between meeting patients. Exercising without music is almost unimaginable. Did you know our hearts respond when we listen to our favorite pieces? Today, I want to share how music may affect the beat.

This essay will explore the fascinating connection between music and the heart…

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com