The Rogue Police Officer, the Reasons, and Remedies

Officers take an oath to protect citizens, but not all who wear the uniform will uphold this duty, and we must ask why and how to improve the situation for all.

Dr. Patricia Farrell
BeingWell
Published in
4 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Photo by Sean Lee on Unsplash

The police oath:

On my honor, I will never
Betray my integrity, my character
Or the public trust.
I will always have the courage to hold
myself and others accountable for our actions.
I will always maintain the highest ethical
standards and uphold the values of my
community, and the agency I serve
.

There are many reasons police officers might act strangely, such as stress, trauma, and being exposed to violence, as well as a lack of accountability and a "code of silence" among law enforcement.

But their senior partners also slowly teach new police officers about the way things work in the police force. It is not always in accordance with the oath they took. There is even an extensive list of terms used almost exclusively by the police. It serves as part of their initiation into the group they have joined.

--

--

Dr. Patricia Farrell
BeingWell

Dr. Farrell is a psychologist, consultant, author, and member of SAG/AFTRA, interested in flash fiction writing (http://bitly.ws/S94e) and health.