An aloe vera plant sits in a gray pflower pot.
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

This Herbal Medicine May Improve Blood Sugar

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
5 min readApr 16, 2024

--

WHILE MY BLOOD SUGAR LEVELS ARE in the high normal range, I wondered how to bring them down a bit.

My clinical literature review turned up this nice trick:

Aloe vera gel may reduce hemoglobin A1c (a measure of blood sugar) in people with diabetes.

A cartoon depiction of a hemoglobin molecule.
A hemoglobin molecule. Photo by ANIRUDH on Unsplash

Today, I’ll offer evidence-based natural ways to lower blood sugar levels. First, I need to define hemoglobin A1C (HbA1C).

Measuring Blood Sugar

I remember how friends with diabetes depended on daily finger pricks to track their blood sugar levels.

These tests were accurate, but only in the moment. Our blood sugar levels vary considerably based on activity, hormonal changes, time of day, etc.

An aerial view of the Yale New Haven Hospital campus.
Aerial view of the Yale New Haven Hospital campus. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yale_New_Haven_Hospital.

I remember being at Yale Medical School in the 1980s when A1C tests became available.

HbA1c

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com