Hands extend from the right and left of the image to touch a depection of a DNA strand.

Unlocking the Secrets of Your Genes: How Food Can Change Your DNA and Fight Disease

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

--

FORGET EXPENSIVE GENE EDITING THERAPIES. Instead, consider using your dinner plate to unlock some of your genes’ secrets. Doing so may allow you to dodge chronic diseases.

I have been thinking a lot about the emerging field of DNA methylation.

This fascinating discipline explores how to manipulate the dimmer switches that turn our genes on or off.

An illustration of a DNA strand, with methyl groups hanging off of it.
Photo by Sangharsh Lohakare on Unsplash

My Goals

How can I make tiny chemical tweaks to my DNA?

I love that we can choose foods to influence these switches and potentially silence disease risks.

Keep reading if you want to explore the science behind DNA methylation and discover how your food choices can empower you to fight disease at the genetic level.

Your Genes: More Than Instructions

Our genes are like the blueprints for our bodies, containing instructions that tell our cells how to function.

But there’s a twist.

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com