Unlocking Vitality: The 5-Minute Routine That Shields Against Kidney Disease and NeuropathyPhoto by Julien Tromeur on Unsplash

Unlocking Vitality: The 75-Minute Weekly Routine That Shields Against Kidney Disease and Neuropathy

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell
Published in
4 min readApr 17, 2024

--

I AM GOING TO BEGIN WITH A QUIZ ABOUT the exercise amount you need to do weekly to shield against kidney disease and neuropathy.

I frequently write about the health benefits of walking. However, I was surprised to learn that moving can reduce kidney disease and nerve damage-related symptoms.

What is the minimum number of hours per week of walking time that significantly reduces kidney disease and neuropathy risk in patients with type 2 diabetes?

Photo by 青 晨 on Unsplash

At least 15 hours per week? Seven? Thirty minutes daily? Or less than 1.5 hours weekly?

The answer will surprise you.

My Goals

In this article, we’ll explore the surprising health benefits of walking and how it can reduce the risk of kidney disease and nerve damage-related symptoms in patients with type 2 diabetes.

I’ll begin by sharing poet Robert Frost’s perspective on walking before delving into the basics of kidney disease and neuropathy.

--

--

Michael Hunter, MD
BeingWell

I have degrees from Harvard, Yale, and Penn. I am a radiation oncologist in the Seattle area. You may find me regularly posting at www.newcancerinfo.com