Beautiful shadows

Lamiss
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS
2 min readMar 1, 2015

--

We’ve been here for a year, but I used to live here when I was little, and then we moved back to Syria, and now we’ve come back because of the war in Syria.

We are five at home, my and my sister and brother and my mum and dad.

This is my brother. He’s 7. He’s looking at the picture on his book. I wanted to capture the light and the shadows on his features.

These are my toys, and I also like that there is shadow at the bottom of the picture. I like the one in the middle, I call it Sisi. They are new. It was hard to bring a lot of stuff from Syria.

This says something about me because I love the light and this is my classroom in the centre where I come every day. And there are beautiful shadows, I really like it.

Lamiss is being supported by Christian Aid. Our local partner Mouvement Social provides a safe space for Syrian refugee and Lebanese children — many of whom are unable to access state-school education. As well as ensuring their wellbeing and protection, they give children like Lamiss access to recreational, educational, social and psychological support. To donate to our Syria Crisis Appeal and to support vital work like this, please visit our website.

--

--

Lamiss
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS

I love people and I love imagining things. I don’t like to upset anyone. I love photography and taking photos of people that show how they live. I’m 15.