Boys make the mess and girls clear it up

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS
2 min readMar 23, 2015

--

Boys can mess up a house in five minutes. Boys make the mess and girls clean it up. When they come back home, boys take off their work clothes and throw them everywhere, and I hate it. I hate it when they put something on my bed.

When they have to do something, it’s as if boys make a bet whether they can do it in five minutes or not, and they work fast. When I’m doing chores with my sisters we want to listen to music, drink coffee, and have a bit of fun, and then we clean the house but it takes wo or three hours. And mum says ‘you have to finish up, maybe someone will come over’ and we say ‘noone is going to come over!’

No, girls and boys don’t have the same amount of freedom. My brother comes back, he goes out again, he goes to the gym, he goes to see his friends, and mum says nothing. But if I want to go out mum says no.

Christian Aid partner Mouvement Social is giving Hayleen and children like her access to recreational, educational and psychological support. To donate to our Syria Crisis Appeal and to support vital work like this, please visit our website.

--

--

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS

I’m 14 and I love sunsets and my favourite game is monopoly. I’m from Syria. My hobby is photography. I love to take photos of the mountains and the sunset.