I wanted to capture the lock of the door of the cage. My idea was to capture him looking at the sky.

But at the end of the day she is free

Stephanie
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS
2 min readMar 9, 2015

--

This bird is on our balcony. Whenever I go and look at him, he’s staring at the sky.

We always kept birds like this in Syria, but once they escaped. Within an hour they were all dead, they couldn’t survive without the cage. They were born in captivity and they can’t really fly. So I never think about opening the cage, because I know he would die.

He sings every day in the morning, or if we put the lights on the balcony on at night.

I took this picture of a dove flying in the sky immediately after I took the picture of the bird in the cage. We feed the caged bird. The dove has more trouble because she has to find her own food.

But at the end of the day she is free.

Our bird is a prisoner, he has water and food, but he is a prisoner.

Freedom is better even if it’s hard.

Stephanie attends a centre run by Christian Aid’s local partner Mouvement Social, which provides a safe space for Syrian refugee and Lebanese children — many of whom are unable to access formal education. They give children like Stephanie access to recreational, educational and psychological support. To donate to our Syria Crisis Appeal and to support vital work like this, please visit our website.

--

--

Stephanie
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS

I’m 14. I love life and people. I want be famous, a writer, actress, journalist or a photographer. I like photography because it expresses things without words.