Returning to Syria is a dream

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS
2 min readMar 16, 2015

--

This is my sister behind a glass door. She’s seven. She doesn’t really remember Syria.

Yes, we lived under the war. Sometimes I was very scared. I heard bombing. One time we heard that a bomb had fallen on my uncle’s house, but it turned out it had fallen on another house.

Returning to Syria is a dream. I don’t think it will happen. When I used to live there I didn’t think much about my country, but when I came here I felt that I had lost something really precious.

Hayleen attends a centre run by Christian Aid’s local partner Mouvement Social, which provides a safe space for Syrian refugee and Lebanese children — many of whom are unable to access state-school education. As well as ensuring their wellbeing and protection, they give children like Hayleen access to recreational, educational, social and psychological support. To donate to our Syria Crisis Appeal and to support vital work like this, please visit our website.

--

--

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS

I’m 14 and I love sunsets and my favourite game is monopoly. I’m from Syria. My hobby is photography. I love to take photos of the mountains and the sunset.