The door goes to Syria

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS
2 min readFeb 24, 2015

--

I don’t know who lives in those buildings. I don’t know many people here, mostly just my friends in the centre. Most of my family is still in Syria. Some went to Turkey, we are the only ones in Lebanon. My dad’s been working in a bakery here for 20 years which is why we came here not Turkey.

I was excited to come here originally because my dad was working here and I wanted to see it. Dad used to just visit us every couple of months, now we’re all together. But I miss Syria.

My friends and I made this door here at the centre where we come every day. The door goes to Syria. It was a freestyle exercise and we chose to make this door.

I’ve always imagined that when I open this door, I’m going to enter Syria. Our old houses in Syria have similar doors.

For me, this looks like the sun is somewhere stuck between the clouds, but at the same time it could be in the sea.

Hayleen attends a centre run by Christian Aid’s local partner Mouvement Social, which provides a safe space for Syrian refugee and Lebanese children — many of whom are unable to access state-school education. As well as ensuring their wellbeing and protection, they give children like Hayleen access to recreational, educational, social and psychological support. To donate to our Syria Crisis Appeal and to support vital work like this, please visit our website.

--

--

Hayleen F
BEIRUT FRIENDS: OUR LIFE IN PHOTOS

I’m 14 and I love sunsets and my favourite game is monopoly. I’m from Syria. My hobby is photography. I love to take photos of the mountains and the sunset.