It doesn’t matter how many steps you’ve taken from Jesus. It only takes ONE to get back.

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
3 min readSep 30, 2021
Photo by Dawson Lovell on Unsplash

Yesterday as I was folding my laundry I was listening to one of my favorite street preachers on Youtube, pastor David Lynn. In the video, Mr.Lynn had a young man come up to share his testimony with the on lookers and people who passed by.

As the young man finished up sharing his testimony, he ended it saying…

“It doesn’t matter how many steps we’ve taken from Jesus. It only takes ONE to get back.”

I remember pausing, looking over to my husband, and then saying, “Ain’t that the truth!”

My guilt consumed me.

Have you ever felt like you’ve done so much wrong that you can’t make it right? I know I have! When I first became christian, my guilt from past mistakes always consumed me. How could a person who didn’t even love themselves be loved by a God?

I had a terrible upbringing which led me down a path of destruction. In the past I had sold my body for money, became consumed in alcohol, started to strip, was homeless and hungry and that just as the half of it. How could a God forgive that? I didn’t understand how a God saw good in me, when I didn’t even see it in myself. I had taken so many steps away from God, how could I return?

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

2 Corinthians 12:9 NKJV

Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

You can always return to Jesus.

Well I’m here to tell you today, no matter what you’ve done, if you have air in your lungs then you are able to repent and live a righteous lifestyle.You could’ve taken a hundred steps away from God, but he is waiting right there with open arms for you too return because he loves you and died for you. God doesn’t want anyone to go to hell.

“The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is long suffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.”

2 Peter 3:9

God’s forgiveness is greater than you’ll ever know.

God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, for whoever believes in him shall not perish but have everlasting life.

John 3:16

Don’t let your mistakes take control of you.

It doesn’t matter how many steps you’ve taken from Jesus. It only takes ONE to get back.

Stay Blessed!

Much love,

Alex

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.