She’s raising her son to “not give a f***”.

“…For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
4 min readJul 20, 2021

--

As parents we are supposed to direct our children.

Recently I’ve been really struggling with the phrase “Love one another, as I have loved you”. With me being 8 months pregnant, my hormones have been out the roof. With that being said, I’ve been very emotional.

The other day, I was on social media and this women posted a picture of her son. He had his nails painted. She mentioned something in the caption about her son wanting to have his nails painted because a girl in his class had it. So she let him. This really shocked me for two main reasons,

  1. )The bible mentions how girls should not dress like boys or wear anything that pertains to them, and vice versa.

“A woman shall not wear anything that pertains to a man, nor shall a man put on a woman’s garment, for all who do so are an abomination to the Lord your God.”

Deuteronomy 22:5 NKJV

2. ) As parents we are supposed to direct our children towards the path they should go. So it’s our duty to teach our children there are somethings that boys do, and there are somethings that girls do. Just because he sees a girl do something, doesn’t necessarily mean he should do the exact same thing.

“Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

Proverbs 22:6 NKJV

She’s “waiting for someone to say something”.

If thats not enough… on top of that, the post was riddled with curse words, vulgar language and threats that she’s “waiting for someone to say something” about her son’s nails being painted. After reading that I remember feeling such a negative presence from her post. I thought to myself, “Why is she so angry? Why can’t someone freely disagree with her, and then everyone just moves on? Why must she make aggresive/ harmful gestures toward anyone who may not agree with her?” She was the one who put it on facebook for ALL to see. So yes, people are going to have an opinion on it.

She’s raising her son to “not give a f***”. THIS IS WHEN MY SADNESS BEGAN.

At that moment I began to feel overwhelmed with sadness. I thought to myself how much pain and hurt this lady must have in her heart. I felt so sad for the fact that she probably doesn’t have Jesus in her life, because when you do, the things that you say and do reflect your heart.

“…For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

Luke 6:45 NKJV

As I continued reading the post she ended it with, she’s raising her son to “not give a f***”. All of this is so heartbreaking because, WE DON’T NEED THAT, “not give a f***” attitude! We have enough people in the world who don’t care about others. What we need is more kindness, more love, more goodness and more of GOD.

I get so emotionally attached to situations like this because I love these people. God created us all in his image and so it hurts me when I see not only people, but children being taught wrongfully.

So where do we draw the line?

Well, looking at the bible we see Jesus also cried for us. He indured so much on this earth I just can’t imagine how heartbroken he was to see so much sin around him, and yet he still died for us. But, I have to remember that there are also many scriptures in the bible that focus on preaching the gospel and if people neglect it , then turn away and keep it moving. Just like God doesn’t force himself on people, I can’t force them either.

So although I can become emotionally attached in certain situations it is noy my job to carry that heavy burden in my heart.

Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good!
For His mercy endures forever.

Psalm 136 NKJV

Thanks for reading,

Much love,

-Alex

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.