“That testimony helped me to believe in a God I thought I hated.”

Your testimony is what leads other people to Jesus.

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
3 min readJun 22, 2021

--

I once heard a pastor say, “Don’t be scared to tell people your testimony. That is what leads people to Jesus.”

He was so right. When I was young I heard my aunt talk about Jesus. At that time I was about 10 or so, and I had made up my mind that I didn’t believe in God. I actually disliked him. For many years, as a child, I was neglected and abused by my parents. I had so much anger built up toward God because I felt like he allowed that abuse to happen to me.

I remember the day I heard my aunts testimony. We were sitting in a car and my aunt told me all the miracles that God had done in her life. She started venting about how her prayers had been answered. She spoke about having no one and God was the only one there. Her testimony impacted me so much that even now I think about it.That testimony helped me to believe in a God I thought I hated. It planted a seed inside of me.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV

I was set free

For a long time I hid the things I had experienced in life. I hid my homelessness, I hid the abuse I endured as a child, I hid my past being a stripper, I hid the stealing, lies, the scary voices in my head. I felt ashamed and embarrassed. I think as people we love to put on this facade that everythings perfectly peachy, but honestly it's not.

People look at me now and wonder how I can be so open about my past?What’s changed? The answer… Jesus! I never ever could be so open about the things I had experienced until I met Jesus. He was there every step of the way. He healed my brokenness in a way nothing or no one else could. He loved me when I didn’t love myself. What changed was, he gave me a voice of confidence so I could use my pain to glorify him and show others how his love endures forever. I show others his love by sharing my own testimony. Through all the bad, he has always been there, and he yet he still loves me.

“…For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Hebrews 13:5 NKJV

So don’t be afraid to tell others about your journey. Every obstacle you’ve faced has scuplted you into the person you are today. You are brave, strong and amazing. You are here for a reason! Tell others the good news! Jesus has died for our sins! He is forgiving! He has brought us through so many trials so we can share our testimony with the world!

“Come and hear, all you who fear God, And I will declare what He has done for my soul.”

Psalm 66:16 NKJV

Thank you for reading brothers and sisters,

Much love

-Alex

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.