What if God asked you to turn your back on people you love?

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
3 min readSep 26, 2021

Would you do it?

The Ultimatum

Yesterday, at Bible study my Pastor started talking about the last days. He talked about what will happen and how it’s becoming so hard for Christians to stand by the bible and voice their beliefs. Out of the many things he talked about… There was one thing that really stood out to me. He said “Never become so emotionally attached to someone or something that you’re willing to turn your back on God for it.” This includes wives, husbands, family, friends, your church and even your own children!

If you were given an ultimatum, and had to choose to never see your children, family, friends again, or to turn your back on God, would you? Or would that price be to high to pay? I ask this because in other countries people’s families are being taken away from them. People are being jailed for preaching the gospel and in some countries you aren’t even allowed to be a Christian.

As Christians we are called to preach the gospel and spread the word of God, even though we may be persecuted.

Then on the other hand we may not have to give up anything or anyone, but we put God second to people like our children, family or friends. We tend to love them so much that we accept or approve of things that we know are wrong just because we love them. But what about our love for God and his feelings?

The Bible talks about this love, Jesus said…

“He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me.”

Matthew 10:37 NKJV

My Fear, and where I fit in this puzzle

This made me examine my own heart as well. I just had a beautiful baby, and one thing I feel I’m potentially at risk for is the increased amount of love I feel for my son. I love him so much. Do I love him more than God, the creator who created him?

I always tell my husband, I love our son so much, but I never ever want to love him more than I love God. God gave me him and at anytime can surely take him away. So I never want to be okay with our son stealing, lying, cheating etc.

Even though it seems like no parent would want their child to do that, it is important to realize that unfortunately their are some parents who just put their children over God and his standards of right and wrong. We have parents who have children who commit crimes and the parents still stand firmly next to them. They have the child’s back 100%, even though what there child did was wrong. I see a lot of this happening today in this world.

Abraham and his son.

This brings me to the story of Abraham and his son. Abraham was a man in the bible who loved his son so much. But he loved God more. He loved God so much more than his own son that Abraham was willing to kill his son for God if that’s what God wanted.

Would I be able to do something like that? Would you? Now, trust me I don’t want either me or you thinking about killing our children, but I think it’s important to point out. Abraham was favored by God and because of this… God made a covenant with him for all generations. Is our faith as big as Abrahams?

Proverbs 3:5–6 NKJV

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.”

Thanks for reading!

Much love,

Alex

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.