What if my son was pushed from a roof?

As christians, what we can learn from Afghanistan.

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
4 min readAug 30, 2021

--

“What if this would’ve happened to me?”

As these last few days and weeks have passed by, we’ve all been glued to the news! Sadly with the take over of Afghanistan by the Taliban, our sisters and brothers in Christ are being persecuted each day. Just like me, I bet you’ve said or thought something like…

“OH NO! This is Horrible!”

“I wish I could do something”

“I’ll pray for them”

But, you’ve probably also thought or said things like:

“Thank God, that’s not me or my family”

“I’m so glad we don’t live there”

And the biggest one of all “What if this would’ve happened to me?

Thats the question I’ve been thinking and asking lately “What if this would’ve happened to me?”

Could I stand firm if my son was pushed off a roof?

As you know I’m 9 months pregnant. So I’m almost at the end of my pregnancy. God has blessed me so much just to be able to carry a baby, and the thought of someone pushing my son off of a roof is unfathomable. We are in the end times and as sad as this stuff is, it needs to happen so that Jesus can come back.

“And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not troubled; all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.”

Matthew 24:6 NKJV

Even though this is not happening to me it does make me examine my own faith. Like the bible says I must indure to the end.

“But he who endures to the end shall be saved.”

Matthew 24:13 NKJV

So even though I love my son I must mentally prepare myself to be able to go through harsh situations as a christian. If there is anything I know, if people cannot break you. They will target the ones you love in order to hurt you.

Where is your faith? Would you be able to endure such horrid prosecution toward you or your loved ones and still stand firm? It’s ok if the answer is
“I don’t know” or “honestly No”. For me, I think I too would crack seeing my baby flung from a roof top. Identifying where our faith is weak can help us to know what we need to work on, so we can become stronger christians.

Preparing Ourselves.

From the news lately I’ve realized two main things…

  1. ) I need to prepare myself-

This is only the beginning, with more war, famine, disease to come. I need to prepare myself to be able stand firm in my faith even if it means I maybe tortured or lose someone I love.

2. )I am so Very Blessed!

I am one of billions of lucky ones that can freely spread my faith and read my bible without fear of being caught, tortured and executed. Still, there are millions of others who live in fear every single day! Christians in the middle east have it bad but North Korea is supposed to be even worse.

In North Korea, Secret police carry out raids on citizens homes to find Christians. If someone is caught, their whole family will share the same punishment. They will either all be killed immediately, or sent to labor camps. Children are told to tell on their parents if they suspect they are christians. In the end, all of this persecution on Christians all over the world is going to continue get worse.

I am so very blessed to live somewhere where I do not have to fear for my life. But it won’t always be that way forever.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Philippians 4:13 NKJV

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison,”

2 Corinthians 4:16–17 ESV

Thanks for Reading!

-Alexandria Cooper

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.