When times get hard we turn our back on God.

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints
3 min readJun 8, 2021

Gods proven mercy upon the Israelites when they had forsaken him.

….When times get hard we turn our back on him.

The other day I was reading my bible and I came across the story of Jeremiah. Now I’ve read this story before, but this time it was different. The beginning of the story talks mostly about how horrible the Israelites were to God. God freed them from slavery generations before, he heard their cry, gave them everything and they still defiled his land. The Israelites worshiped idols, turned their back on him , etc. Sounds kind of familiar right? Even today, God is the one who gives us so many blessings and when times get hard people have a tendency of turning their back on him. Unfortunately even I’ve done this before.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.”

James 1:17 NKJV

RETURN, RETURN, RETURN….

As I read on I noticed that God kept using the same word over and over again… “return.” I thought that was very interesting because to me it seemed as if he was begging. Now I’m not saying he was, but it did make me take a closer look. So I began to take notes of all the times he asked the Israelites to return, and it shocked me. Why would God give them so many chances? He had already done enough, and still they weren’t thankful.

Not only is he merciful but God truly is forgiving. He doesn’t owe us anything yet he still gives us everything… Even when we forsake him.

“Return, backsliding Israel,’ says the Lord;
‘I will not cause My anger to fall on you.
For I am merciful,’ says the Lord;
‘I will not remain angry forever.”

Jeremiah 3:12 NKJV

What bad thing have we found in God?

Lastly, I noticed he asked the Israelites ‘What injustice has your father’s found in me?’

“Thus says the LORD: 'What injustice have your fathers found in Me, That they have gone far from Me, Have followed idols, And have become idolaters?”

Jeremiah 2:5 NKJV

In my opinion, almost as if he was saying “why am I not enough?”. Can you believe a God who created the whole universe and has made everything perfect, is asking a simple human What has he done wrong?

This just shows us how much how he cares for all of us. At times I also have hurt God, betrayed him and defiled myself. That’s why his love for a sinner like me is so unfathomable at times.

For anyone who feels like they have done so much wrong that they can not be forgiven please remember…

“That if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:19 NKJV

and if we turn away from our sins…

“If you, Israel, will return, then return to me,” declares the LORD. “If you put your detestable idols out of my sight and no longer go astray,…” Jeremiah 4:1 NIV

… Our God, is so merciful and forgiving that he will forgive us.

Have an amazing & blessed day sisters and brothers in Christ?

Love, Alex

--

--

Alexandria Cooper
Believers and Saints

Wife || Mama Bear & Self Help Fanatic! I write about Self Help, Christianity & Parenting.