My Letter To 30 Year Old Me — Bella Victor

Bella Victor
Bella Victor
Published in
4 min readNov 10, 2018

Dear 30 year old me,

I’m writing to you from the past. You’re now 30-years-old, and while you’ve lived a happy and healthy life with no regrets, I have some advice for you.

First, how is San Diego, California? So, I heard that is where Socialander HQ is now. I saw this coming but I never knew it will be happening this fast. I must confess that I am proud of you.

Congratulations on your recent achievement as Forbes 30 Under 30, I must confess that this is huge. I know you’re still trying to find your feet and working out the ins and outs of business but stick with it. I can guarantee the best is yet to come.

Giving Back — Student Business Club

It’s also wonderful to see how far we’ve come in advancing and promoting STUDENT ENTREPRENEURSHIP. 30 year old me, can you believe that small club that started in 2016 with less than 5 members, that later increased to over 2,000 in 2018, is now a household name for Student Entrepreneurship with over 300 hubs across the world? It’s shocking, isn’t it?

While I don’t want to spoil the mystery and fantasy of the unknown, I can tell you there will be so many wonderfully rewarding moments and the most incredible people in your future. Yes, many of your wildest dreams will come true. But there’s a clause: you will have to work hard to make them happen.

Please don’t forget, where you are coming from and how much work you have put to be here. Always remember that this is just the beginning. Now everyone is counting on you. So don’t just do it for yourself but for those counting on you. Someone is out there holding up because of you, don’t give up.

30 year old me…

Please don’t forget, where you are coming from and how much work you have put to be here. Always remember that this is just the beginning. Now everyone is counting on you. So don’t just do it for yourself but for those counting on you. Someone is out there holding up because of you, don’t give up.

Business & Investment…

You’ve never gone into business to make money, but instead, you’ve always wanted to make a positive difference in people’s lives. It’s time to step things up and do more impacting.

Family…

Hey, 30 year old me, Family is good.

I am sure you are married now with children. Always remember that everything you do and every risk you take has been for your family. Business shouldn’t take the place of your family,

Faith…

God has been your help all through the years. I know you are still very strong in the faith. Just in case you forgot the gospel you heard and believed before you attained this height, I will leave this passage of the Holy Scripture to remind you.

1 Corinthians 15:1–4 King James Version (KJV)

1 Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand;

2 By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.

3 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;

4 And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:

You believe in the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ and how the event bought you salvation from the curse of sin and death.

Conclusion…

Dear 30 year old me, I am so proud to be identified as your past. You’ve achieved your purpose of existence and you are now selflessly helping others achieve theirs too. Nigeria is taking a new look because of what you are doing with her youths. Young African entrepreneurs are also looking up to you as a role model.

I wish you well, dear 30 year old me in all that you do henceforth. Please, extend my regard to 35 year old me, and when you write to 45 year old me, don’t forget to refer to what I have written to you in this letter.

You are forever loved, my dear.

I am your loving past,

Bella Victor 2018

If you truly love me and want me to keep writing. Please clap one, clap two, clap three, forty?
By clapping more or less, you are signaling me which stories really stand out.

--

--

Bella Victor
Bella Victor

I am curious! Unrepentant Entrepreneur... Ex. Andela, Unilever, KPMG, Hexavia, Ringier, Anakle,